“Up”side of my Day

Last night, as I was mentally debating on whether or not to get up to write a post, I came across Disney-Pixar’s UP on tv. Perfect – I thought – for tomorrow’s post πŸ™‚ First off, I am a HUGE Disney fan (Yes, I know I am closer to 30 than to 3)!! Secondly, I have never seen this one…I usually stay close to the old-school videos. So I figured it was a prime opportunity to make a bowl of (100 calorie) popcorn, snuggle up next to the kitty, and watch this lil’ cartoon.

UP is a comedy adventure about 78-year-old balloon salesman Carl Fredrickson, who finally fulfills his lifelong dream of a great adventure by flying away to Paradise Falls in South America. But he discovers all too late that his biggest nightmare has stowed away on the trip – an overly optimistic 8-year-old named Russell.

What’s truly amazing, though, is a sequence about five minutes in, where Carl and Ellie – the kids at the very beginning of the film – grow up, get married, and grow old. It’s pure, visual filmmaking, without any words – set to the haunting music of Michael Giacchino (yes – I looked it up!). I had a rush of emotions during this simple five-minute explanation of life – joys of childhood, flutters of young love, utter sadness with the news of no children, pure happiness at a long life, and the empty sadness of death.

On with the bulk of the story, Carl is forced to leave his house and simply decides to take it with him. So, after tying tens of thousands of balloons to it, he flies off to South America – not realizing that he has an 8-year-old stowaway on board intent on earning his Wilderness Explorer badge by “Assisting the Elderly.” What makes the movie so fun is that these two are delightfully different! I mean, just look at them: a grumpy old man and a chunky Asian-American kid – what’s NOT to love?!

There are plenty of bright silly things here, like a giant squawking bird (oddly reminiscent of the Dodo bird) that Russell soon takes, well, under his wing. And speaking dogs (courtesy of sci-fi collars that translate their barks) which say all the stupid things you know your pet would say if he could speak human (mostly excited chatter about squirrels, treats, and tennis balls)!

I found myself chuckling out loud many times, and was very glad the hubs was not home to laugh AT me.

So, if you find yourself wanting a true, childhood, feel-good movie, I suggest UP.

ENJOY!

What is your favorite childhood movie?

3 thoughts on ““Up”side of my Day

  1. UP was such a cute movie! I bawled my eyes out watching it!

    I’d say my favorite childhood movie would be either Mary Poppins or Dirty Rotten Scoundrels. I know that’s not a Disney movie but my brother and I watched it ALL.THE.TIME. πŸ™‚

  2. I cried myself silly during up. It’s NOT just a cartoon! πŸ™‚ It’s a wonderfu piece of film and storytelling. Great for inspiration and finding true love that lasts far beyond the mortal realm.

Leave a Reply

