GNO (Girls Night Out!)

Columbia Street Tap Room / Seiler Bar

I have recently decided to come out of my shell a lil’ bit (hence, the daily peek into my life through this blog).  It’s not that I am a hermit…it’s just that I have a very laid-back personality.  I have never been a girly-girl…or gossip queen…and I usually surround myself with only a few close friends.  However, I was recently adopted by a great group of gals!  My first outing with them was on New Year’s Eve…and we had a blast!  Last night, I was invited to dinner – for a Girls Night Out.  We went to a great local hangout.  My first experience at the lil’ bar and grill was the night the hubs and I closed on our house!  A friend took us there to celebrate and introduce us to the area.  Well, recently the bar has expanded.  On one side of the building is the dive – where you have local beer on tap and live music!  On the other side of the building is the wine bar, where they serve up great wine, fun cocktails, and fabulous appetizers.

I started with the lobster bisque, followed by a caesar salad, and ended with flat-iron steak – the slivers of meat laid out in the shape of a pin-wheel, sprinkled with blue cheese.  Scrump-dili-isious!!  I topped it off with a glass of Alexander Valley Cabernet.  We sat for hours, just chatting.  And believe me, I can’t tell you how hard I was laughing when the conversation turned to girl talk.  (Gentlemen readers, please skip to the end!)  As in, did you know it is now fashionable to get a massage for your va-jay-jay?!  Yes – one of them read in Harper’s BAZAAR magazine that ladies should even exfoliate!  I don’t even want to picture that…

Anyway – after a few hours, the pace started to pick up a lil’ bit, as we could hear the music coming through the wall.  There are few things cooler than just sitting around listening to live bands!  Last night, Four Unplugged was playing.  All-in-all…a very favorable evening!

___________________________________________________________

On to today…it was a very low-key day.  I had stopped by Hobby Lobby yesterday to pick-up some scrapbooking supplies.  I haven’t scrapbooked in…well…over (2) years!  It looked like it was time to catch-up.  So today I organized my online pictures over the last couple years into the categories that I wanted to scrapbook.  I usually scrapbook all major trips and outings with friends.  I rarely scrapbook the fun, random things that happen in my daily life, so I decided to go out on a limb and buy some stickers about Cats, Gingerbread houses, Moving, etc.  Next thing on my list was to organize the papers and stickers 🙂  And finally, just play around with some themes.

Also took Mario out back to play in the yard for a bit.  He always makes me chuckle as he zips around the trees and jumps in the leaves.  He has a bad new habit though…which is jumping our 6-ft. fence!!  I have caught him in the act several times, so now he has to be chaperoned.  Next time, I vow to take the camera out with us so that I can share with you!! 

On to the best part of my day…dinner!  I tried my own variation of chicken fried rice tonight.  I am a somewhat picky eater…I mean, I will try anything once, but I really have a hard time with the “extras” – such as onions, peppers, olives, etc.  The hubs and I have perfected our own version of stir-fry.  So tonight, I made rice, chicken, and egg! 

Since I was using pre-cooked chicken, and minute-rice, I started the rice first.  Once the water was boiling, I added the rice and removed it from heat.  I mixed an egg with a little bit of water and put it in one pan.  I put a lil’ bit of EVOO in a second pan.  Once it was heated, I added a handful of peanuts and the chicken.  I had (5) minutes for the rice to cook, so the timing was perfect once everything was cooking together. 

I added some salt, pepper, pepper flakes, and soy sauce to the chicken/peanut mixture, and then added the chopped up egg.  Once the rice was cooked, I added the chicken/peanut/egg mixture.  Viola!  A complete meal in under (15) minutes!

You can add peas, onions, pretty much whatever you want to make your own version!  If you like Chinese, I promise you won’t be disappointed.

Well, I’m signing off for the day.  And if you haven’t gone out in a while, I suggest you take the time for your own night out!

Do you ever listen to the local bands play live?  Any that you now regularly follow?

2 thoughts on “GNO (Girls Night Out!)

  1. That meal sounds so delicious!!! And Mario is such a cutie! I think my cat would FAHREAK if she went outside!

    There is nothing better than listening to live music with a glass of vino. ❤ I would take that kind of evening over going to the clubs anyday!

  2. Love the culinary photo updates!! I do that with my “Adventures in the gourmet-king” photo album on facebook, but I haven’t been home to cook in over a month. Thanks for posting! 🙂 Makes me miss my stove.

Leave a Reply

