Wednesday “Whatabouts”

  • Whatabouts – noun: The matters which one is occupied with.

Today I have been preoccupied with…MUSIC.  I started off daydreaming about a new playlist for my long runs…


(via Flickr)

A lil’ bit of history: I used to run with NO music (back in the day!)  When I started up running again, I was using the C25K plan…and I downloaded some upbeat music from DJ Beatsmith that coincided with my new running plan.  Without a race date in mind, I ditched the plan and just went out for 20 or 30 minute runs.  I still used the DJ Beatsmith tracks because of their catchy beats for a full 20-30 minute fun.  If I start to feel tired or wind down, I just try to keep in step with the beat of the music and it keeps me going.  Now…I am wanting to incorporate some fun stuff – update my playlist!

I searched a gazillion site looking for a) fast beats, b) new artists, c) what other people listen to when they workout or run – and I found myself stumbling upon today’s top hits.  Some of them have a good enough beat I might just add to my new playlist!  And so…I thought I would share them with you!  Enjoy your Wednesday!

*Due to YouTube rules, I just posted links to the videos.

TOP SONG
Britney Spears – Hold it Against Me
Even if you love to hate her…she’s always cranking out something catchy!!!

 POP
Katy Perry – Firework
The lyrics from this girl’s songs are always stuck in my head!

#1 RINGTONE
Wiz Khalifa – Black And Yellow
I say, “Why not, Steelers fans?!” We had Ying Yang Twins – Halftime last year!

ROCK
The Black Keys – Tighten Up

COUNTRY
Kenny Chesney – Somewhere with You

DANCE
Cher – You Haven’t Seen the Last of Me

RAP
Waka Flocka Flame – No Hands

 

What is currently on your workout playlist?

2 thoughts on “Wednesday “Whatabouts”

  1. Great songs! I haven’t listened to my Ipod since this past summer when I was really working out. I’m not sure yoga music would motivate you on your runs. 😉 But, I must say there are a few songs I hear on the radio and *kind of* wish I worked out for reals again. The one I’m loving right now is “Like a G6” (not sure who sings it?) but the beat would motivate you big time! 🙂 I always want to go to a club for 5 minutes just to dance to this song (then go home once the song is over hehehe).

  2. Thanks for the song tips! I always have trouble finding new music to run to. Right now… well, I’m a dork, and I have a smattering of my fave Broadway show tunes that I run to (while, of course, doing the choreography in my head and lip synching… on the elliptical… at the gym. Any wonder I’m single? The rest of the gym must think I’m nuts!).

    ANYHOW… I’ve been sprinting to…
    Shrek; The Musical
    Legally Blonde
    SPAMalot
    Soundtrack to Will & Grace (REALLY good!)
    an I Love the 80’s Compilation CD
    and some miscellaneous pop hits from when we were in college… Pink, J Lo, Avril Lavigne, etc.

    In case you can’t tell, I’m WAY behind on current music. Again, thanks for the tips!

Leave a Reply

