Fun Run – Lakefront

 

Today was my Friday off. 😀 So I took full advantage — I slept in late (hello 8 am!), ate a big breakfast, cleaned up the house a lil’ bit — then decided it would be a perfect day for a run on the lakefront! I took my time getting ready, then I finally hit the pavement.

It amazes me how even after running all these years, I am continually challenged — each and every run. Running isn’t about getting a PR every time you lace up. It’s about the experience — getting outdoors, breathing in the fresh air, getting your blood pumping, and challenging yourself.

Today – I ran 3 miles. I mean, the FULL 3 miles. The first time since, well, since my freshman year of college!! Here’s how it went. Since the weather was nice, I decided I was going to run along the lakefront. Lake Pontchartrain that is. It is the lake that connects us to New Orleans. I always hear of people talking about their runs along the lake, and I thought, why not? How hard can it be?


(Start of my run)

 
The first mile – it was GREAT! I ran a 9:00 mile. I mean…I ran with the breeze of the lake at my back, people walking their dogs, and the local restaurants every few blocks. Really made it worth it! Then, I hit the 1 to 2 mile stretch. From my starting point to the end of the lakefront is 1.5 miles. That 1.50-2.00 miles was HARD!!! It felt like such a LONG road. And…I ran a 9:22 mile. All I could think over and over was, “Get to 2.5 miles….that was your last run!” And then, magically, when I reached the 2.5 mile mark, I thought, “Why not go a little longer…a little further.” And so I did. I read a blog last night – IowaGirlsEats “How to Run Longer and Faster” – and something she said really struck a chord with me – something so simple, yet so true: It was then I realized that in order to run longer and faster, I had to run longer and faster. I was thinking of that, exactly, when I reached the 2.5 mile mark. I thought…why not try to get to the 3.0 mile mark? It’s just a lil’ bit further…

And so it was! I thought every 100 yards was going to kill me…but when all was said and done, I finished my last mile at a 9:06 pace!!! You are prolly wondering what kept me going? Honestly, it was the houses along the lakefront. They are TRUE, southern houses. Most of them are up on stilts (in case of flooding issues)…but they all have the wrap-around fence…and are just B-E-A-U-TIFUL! I kept my focus on the next house. I was like the little engine that could…

 (The little yellow house…a purple house just to the left!)

 

(Pure southern charm!) 

 

 And so it was!  I finished my first 3-mile run in over 6 years!!  And it felt great!!  I might have been huffin’ & puffin’ along the way, but I finished.  And you can too!!  You just need to go a lil’ bit further each time.

Good night y’all!  I hope you enjoyed the Mandeville Lakefront as much as I did!!

What’s your workout history? Runner for life? Just getting into it? Prefer to attend classes?

10 thoughts on “Fun Run – Lakefront

  1. What a great place to run!!! The lake on one side and houses with character on the other!

    Great pics – thanks for sharing! And GREAT job on your run!!!

  2. Way to go on your 3 miles! Looks like it was a beautiful run. That lake looks gorgeous and of course the southern style houses (sigh). I love the wrap around porches!

    I go back and forth with what I like to do workout wise. I used to run like crazy in college, but honestly don’t think I could do it anymore. I envy those of you who have a passion for it. 🙂

    • KT – I can’t wait for you to come visit!! You will LOVE the area…takes me back to the days of our long college walks!!

      And…you don’t need passion for running…just passion for fitness. And your fitness right now is YOGA! And you are gonna be so fit and lean and SEXY! 🙂 Keep it up!

  3. very cute Jen! The first house you posted is my most favorite ever! If I get myself in gear I’ll come join you for the first half of that run ;).

    • I would love a partner in crime! However – with all my huffin’ & puffin’ – I may not be much of a conversationalist 🙂 If you haven’t been down there yet to run…you should go on a day it’s near 60*…it was AWESOME!

  4. Great blog! I hit a long run today too. I do the same thing… “If I can get 2.5 miles, why not 2.75? Why not another 10 minutes?” It’s always worked for me! Today was 60 minutes and 4.6 miles. 🙂 I felt like a rock star! I wish I could run faster, but I’ll settle for slower and steady.

Leave a Reply

