Lean Review – Week 5

Hello everyone! I hope you had a very good January 2011. Today is the first day of February…and I am here to share my last week’s fitness results with you. It seems that my “Lean Start” post has been the most read…and the most reviewed. So I thought I would continue sharing with y’all the lil’ changes I am making along the way in my own diet and exercise plans.

(via Flickr)

LEAN CHECK-IN:
Today’s weigh-in resulted in a 1LB gain – or a 0.67% gain from last week. But that’s ok! I have realized that along this journey, there will be a few bumps in the road. I can’t expect to lose every single week!! It could be a few extra snacks I allowed myself…it could be water gain…or it just could be my muscles toning up a bit! So I am going to keep on going and know that next week – the scales will recognize just how much I am putting into it to lose it!

WEEK 5 LEAN REVIEW:
01.25.2011:
Elliptical – Workout #2 – 30 Minutes

01.26.2011:
Stationary Bike – 19.40 Miles – 35:56 Minutes (Basic Level with No Resistance)

01.27.2011:
Yogilates – Jonathan Urla Level 1 Beginners – 45 Minutes

01.28.2011:
Run – 3.02 Miles – 27:42 Minutes – (Fun Run: Lakefront )

01.29.2011:
Walk – 2.02 Miles – 30:42 Minutes; Elliptical – Workout #1 – 15 Minutes

01.30.2011:
Walk – 2.05 Miles – 30:08 Minutes ; Elliptical – Workout #1 – 30 Minutes ; Walk 1.84 Miles – 26:54 Minutes

01.31.2011:
Walk – 1.87 Miles – 27:57 Minuutes ; Elliptical – Workout #1 – 30 Minutes

You can track your own progress on RunKeeper.com or RunKeeper Application for iPhone! See my profile here. If you sign-up, be sure to be on my Street Team so we can motivate eachother!!!

FOOD REVIEW – UNDERSTANDING YOUR LABEL:
This was a relatively new concept for me when I first started watching what I put into my mouth. To be honest, I mainly only looked at calories. But then I realized, here I am, eating Lean Cuisine Pizza every night for dinner…and still not losing weight! There were nights I went to bed hungry because I was only counting calories…eating only my “allotted amount” for the day. After much research, and many trial and error diet techniques – again, I had to find the right combination of tracking to fit my lifestyle – I realized that you can pretty much eat what you want (in moderation) – along with exercise – and still lose weight! Here are a few tid-bits I have learned about eating healthier. There are a LOT of things you can learn about your food from it’s nutrition label, but we will start with a few of the basics!

(via FDA)


SERVING SIZE

There are two things to note here. 1) We generally look at the serving size and tend to believe that is all we’re eating, while in reality, we’re eating a lot more. For example, you might see a serving size for ice cream listed as ½ cup, and use that amount for your fitness log. (But if you were to measure out your normal bowl, you are most likely eating a lot more than that!!) All the other nutrition information is based on that serving size, so we need to realize just how much we are eating. The key for me was to actually measure out all my foods for a week. It can be a bit cumbersome at first…but it really helps you realize portions vs. serving size! 2) The “serving size” listed on a food label may not be the appropriate portion for your body. For example, most athletes need at least two servings of cereal to create the foundation for an adequate breakfast! You need to retrain your thinking so that you don’t feel like a piggy if you eat two packets (a.k.a. two servings) of oatmeal. It’s ok if your body needs it!

CALORIE CLAIMS

Calorie Free: There is less than five calories per serving.
Low Calorie: 40 calories or less per serving.
Reduced/Less Calories: At least 25 percent fewer calories per serving than a comparable food without reduced calories.

Clearly, calories matter. Calories are what most people are used to counting when trying to lose weight. And…you ought to know how many you should be consuming each day! However, the calories listed on the label are based on serving size. When looking at the label, check the serving size and ask yourself, “Is that the amount I’m really going to eat?” Also, just because a food is low in calories doesn’t mean it’s necessarily healthy! (fat grams, sodium, artifcials etc.)

FIBER CLAIMS

Did you know? The recommended fiber intake is about 25 to 35 grams per day. Most people fail to reach that goal! However, if you take much more than that…you might be making some extra pitstops! Dietary fibers are found mainly in fruits, vegetables, whole grains, and legumes. According to the Mayo Clinic, there are many benefits to adding the right amount of fiber to your diet!

FAT CLAIMS

Don’t be tempted just by “fat-free.” When food manufacturers take out the fat, they generally add extra sugar! The goal is NOT to eliminate fats from our diet! We have to remember that we need fat in our diet to absorb certain vitamins, provide fuel for endurance exercise, and contribute some taste and texture to foods.

Thank you for joining me in my search for fitness!

What are some of YOUR lifestyle changes that have helped you along the way?

4 thoughts on “Lean Review – Week 5

  1. Great blog, Jen!! 🙂 Congrats on your workouts and awesome attitude! I have been lucky so far to have losses for the past 5 weeks but I’m sure I’ll be coming up along some bumps, too, and I will be sure to reread this post and remember your words of wisdom!

    Thanks for a great boost of motivation! I was just about to run out to dinner with some friends and thought, “OH chips and salsa sound REALLY good and I’ve been really depressed and one night of chips won’t kill me…” but now I remember that YES it will! I’m going to be good and stick to rice and fish! 🙂 Thanks for that extra, much-needed punch of inspiration right at the right moment! 🙂

  2. Looks like you’re making a smart approach to this weight loss! 🙂 More than anything, I’m sure you’ll feel more energized and much healthier. 🙂

    The biggest lifestyle change for me was to NOT tell myself I can’t eat something. Because then it’s all I think about and I won’t stop until I eat it (plus some). Another thing is that I try and control portion size by telling myself that it’s not the last time I’m going to eat this food. I can really get it anytime I want. And if it’s something unique that I’m eating while traveling, I want to savor the taste and not overeat to the point of being sick to my stomach (because that’s what I’m going to remember when I think about that yummy food – an upset stomach!). 🙂

Leave a Reply

