Daydream Adventure: Machu Picchu

My Daydream List is just that – a list of adventures and places that would otherwise fill my bulletin boards, drawers, and notebooks.  It includes rugged terrain and serene beaches, oceanic endeavors and oriental exploration — anything and everything that makes my heart beat faster. It is not a bucket list, there is no box to be checked, or expectation to be filled. Instead, it is a list of opportunities, and I hope to take on several of them in my lifetime. ~Adapted from 4th & Flatiron’s  Adventure List! She stated exactly what I was thinking!! ~

Please join me as my mind wanders to…Machu Picchu…a 15th century Inca site often referred to as “The Lost City of the Incas.”  Machu Picchu is located in the Cuzco Region of Peru.  In 2007, Machu Picchu was voted one of the New Seven Wonders of the World in a worldwide Internet poll.

(via Flickr)

The 12 acres of terraces, gardens, staircases, temples, and aqueducts sprawl along a jungle ridge above the Rio Urubamba – a staggering 7,970 feet above sea level.  Your options for getting to the site are by Train, Bus, or Foot. I read at Frommer’s  that helicopter flights are no longer available due to environmental concerns.

I personally daydream of hiking the Inca Trail from the Sacred Valley up to Machu Picchu – a fantastic 4 day, 27 mile trek.  To me, this would be, hands down, the most authentic and scenic way to visit Machu Picchu!    

Just imagine…you would start in the dense jungle…

(via Flickr)

Day 2 of the hike would bring you another 4 miles up to a beautiful glacial lake at the base of Humantay Mountain…

Then reach the base of the mountains and start the arduous climb …

(via Flickr)

And once you reach the top, you peek through the dazzling mountain and cloud-forest vista and are greeted with this scene…

(via Flickr)

Oh – to have been part of Hiram Bingham’s  exploration in 1911…(academic, explorer, treasure hunter – oh my!)

 

The ruins are divided into two main sections, known as the Urban and Agricultural Sectors, divided by a wall.  The space is made up of 140 structures, including temples, parks, and residences.  There are more than one hundred flights of stone steps!

(via Flickr)

(via Flickr)

*SIGH* – I do love to daydream…and I hope you enjoyed exploring with me!

(via Flickr)

Have you ever been to Machu Picchu?  Do you have any desire to go there?

3 thoughts on “Daydream Adventure: Machu Picchu

  1. WOW! If you’re going to dream, dream big!!! If you started training, both weights and walking endurance, you could make this dream a reality by next summer. Just think of all the pics you could take for me!!!

  2. Looks absolutely beautiful! I’ve never been, but now have a mayjah desire to go! 🙂 Daydreaming is the best! I think it’s the Pisces in you. 😉

Leave a Reply

