Wednesday Whatabouts: Blogging

  • Whatabouts (noun): The matters which one is occupied with
  • Blog (noun, verb – blogged, blogging)
    –noun:
    1. a website containing the writer’s or group of writers’ own experiences, observations, opinions, etc., and often having images and links to other Web sites.
    –verb:
    2. to maintain or add new entries to a blog.

       

(via Google images)

So I think I’ve become slightly obsessed with blogging. Granted, I’ve only just begun, but that doesn’t mean I don’t think about this blog all the time and try to think of topics to post in between my current life happenings. I also think that reading other blogs has become one of my favorite things to do throughout the day!  It is a great way to take a quick, 10-minute break and catch up with what is going on around me. I’ve noticed that most of the blogs I follow have a list of other favorite blogs, (in which it is so EASY to get lost for hours by clicking and exploring!) but I thought I’d tell you about my favorites in its own post. I hope you find some new favorites from my list, but also, let me know if there’s a great read out there that I haven’t found yet. And…in no particular order…I introduce to you (click on picture to be taken to blog!):

{No longer blogging!} My first real exposure to a blog – and an absolute joy for me to read!  I found this on WordPress.com when I was first contemplating writing a blog.  The blog was one of the feature posts – and I just clicked on it out of sheer curiosity.  And before I knew it…I had spent the last two hours catching up on EVERY single post she had written.  (STALKER – I know!)  But I am completely smitten with her humor and often find myself laughing out loud because I have thought, or even done, most of the same things she is brave enough to share!

{No longer blogging!} My first real-life blogger!  I mean…I know someone who has been published on the web! I’m that cool.  I went to college with this chick – and she is adventurous and creative – and she was the real encouragement for me to start my own blog about my fitness journey.  I embraced her openness about her goal to reach a size five by her five-year anniversary.  And her dogs and kid are super cute too!

I honestly don’t even know how I found this one!  But I quickly became obsessed with her cutesy solo fashion-shoots and Etsy recommendations and yummy recipes!  And the more I read – I realized that she is semi-famous…as far as fashion and blogging go!  I think part of the allure is the down-home girl in the L.A. scene.

Another blog that I just stumbled across!  The author of this blog is super-creative with outdoor photos and interior design.  I love her “Sunday in the City” posts…just a few unique perspective shots from her random strolls through downtown San Francisco!

{No longer blogging!} I ran across this site while looking for unique wedding shots.  My mom has been asked to help photograph my cousin’s wedding…and I LOVE wedding staging!  This site has a bunch of cute, fun, quirky theme weddings.  Very unique.  Very fun.

by Gwyneth Paltrow – You should have at least one famous blog read!  Site is divided into sections (Make, Go, Get, Do, Be, See) in which a “Newsletter” blog shares Gwyenth’s views on travel, motherhood, food, etc.  It has a very down-to-earth feel…and it’s fun to browse every now and then!

{No longer blogging!} Again, a real-life blogger!  Although I don’t personally know her, the writer of this blog is  a close friend of Kiwi above!  According to her, she is a 20-something Public Health Educator by day, and a running, cooking, reading, photographing, vegetarian social media junkie on the side.  Now – if that intro doesn’t hook you, I don’t know what to tell ya!   But I particularly love to follow this blog because of her passion for running.  She is training for the 2011 Boston Marathon – after SEVEN attempts to qualify.  Yes…that would be seven marathons!  YOWZA! 🙂

There are also a few newbies out there who I have promised to follow – people who are near and dear to my heart!  Please check them out on my blogroll under “People I Know” to see if you too would like to follow!

What is it that draws you to a certain Blog?  What are some favorites on your blogroll?

2 thoughts on “Wednesday Whatabouts: Blogging

Leave a Reply

