Lean Review – Week 8

February is Heart Healthy Month! ~ via Flickr

So I was gearing up this week to blog that my weight-loss honeymoon is over…I mean…it’s been over 3 weeks since I last lost (not gained, not maintained)…but then I stepped on the scale this morning and was  ohsohappy!  I’m not gonna lie…it was a TOUGH week for me.  I was just feeling down and out – not quite myself – fighting headaches and tummy aches – and just overall BLAH.  I took an extra day off in my fitness schedule, and ate a few more than normal snacks, but am headed back in the right direction! 

This is how I felt all week! ~ via Flickr

Nom. Nom. Nom. Healthy Snacks!
I love reading Iowa Girl Eats – and while perusing her blog, I came across THIS INTERVIEW she gave in Jan. 2010 for Juice Magazine. I am re-posting her answers about snacks (including chocolate!) in order to share with you…as a lot of her ideas are in sync with what I do! See below.

1. What are some quick & easy snack ideas?

There are a TON of pre-packaged snacks on the market these days. Bars of this, cups of that. Take a look at some of their ingredient lists though, because I bet you weren’t planning on having partially hydrogenated palm kernel oil or partially defatted peanut flour – two ingredients found in a popular snack bar – as part of your 2 pm pick me up! When it comes to snacks, whole, minimally processed foods are going to give you the most bang for your buck. Give one of these ideas a whirl!

  • Piece of fruit (apple, orange, banana, pear) and a 100 calorie pack of almonds
  • Fat-free yogurt with a banana for dunking
  • Peanut butter* and carrots, apple slices, or celery sticks
  • Ants on a Log (peanut butter, celery & raisins)
  • 1/2 cup fat-free cottage cheese with 1/2 cup pineapple chunks
  • 1 cup fat-free cottage cheese with a dash of cinnamon
  • Low-fat string cheese with apple slices
  • 12 oz non-fat latte
  • Hummus and veggies
  • 2 slices of 100% whole wheat cinnamon raisin bread
  • Any variety of Larabar or PURE Bar

*Peanut butter labels should read “peanuts” or “peanuts, salt” – most commercial peanut butters have added sugar, oils & preservatives

2. I’m trying to learn how to eat healthier, but still crave chocolate! What can I have to satisfy my cravings, but not derail my diet?

Here are some great alternatives to keep you from diving for a Snickers bar!

  • 1 packet of sugar-free hot chocolate mix prepared with skim milk, soy or almond milk
  • 100 calorie pack of cocoa roasted almonds
  • Any chocolate variety of Larabar
  • Chocolate Brownie PURE Bar (found at Campbell’s nutrition)
  • An orange or clementine dipped in 1 Tablespoon melted chocolate chips
  • Skinny Cow Ice Cream Sandwich
  • Chocolate covered raisins or almonds (watch portion size!)
  • 1 cup chocolate skim milk, soy or almond milk
  • CHOCOLATE – sometimes you’ve got to throw the “rule book” out the window and indulge. Life is short –chocolate is delicious!

I hope you have enjoyed my snack session!  Until next week…

WEEK 7 LEAN REVIEW:
02.15.2011:
Day Off

02.16.2011:
Cycle – 4.12 Miles – 26:03 Minutes (Around the neighborhood)

02.17.2011:
Run – 4.03 Miles – 40:02 Minutes

02.18.2011:
Day Off

02.19.2011:
Elliptical – Workout #1 – 30 Minutes

02.20.2011:
Day Off

02.21.2011:
Run – 2 miles – 17:40 Minutes (I aimed for 2 sub-9-minute miles!)

What is your favorite afternoon snack? 

3 thoughts on “Lean Review – Week 8

  1. Glad to see your success this week! Doesn’t that feel great? 🙂 Good job! And I think sometimes you just have to have those bad weeks — lord knows I just had one. But good for you for sticking to it! Well done!!! 🙂 Just think how much easier it’ll be to stick to the fitness once winter is over and you can go outside and run more? I’m really looking forward to that!

  2. Great job on your success!! 🙂 I read that our bodies really do their thang on our rest days. Your workouts look like a blast! 🙂 My favorite afternoon snack would be an apple with raw almond butter. Mmm!!! OR plain greek yogurt with melted almond butter drizzled ontop. (peanut butter works also).

  3. Great job Jen! And you got your sub nine minute miles! My problem isn’t snacking, it’s wine. Any hints for that?

Leave a Reply

