Wednesday Whatabouts: Collections!

  • Whatabouts (noun): The matters which one is occupied with
  • Collection (noun): A group of objects or an amount of material accumulated in one location, especially for some purpose or as a result of some process

via Modern Kiddo

When I was in college, I joined a sorority. Their mascot was a penguin, and I started collecting little penguin accessories for every possible occassion!  And I would spend hours searching for them! Every time I see a cute ornament, snowglobe, apron, or mug with a penguin motif, I think fondly back to my college collection and take a quick trip back through time.  I realize that everyone has something that they like to collect, be it MUSHROOMS, ROOSTERS, STARBUCKS COFFEE MUGS, ANTLER ANCHORS, snow globes, magnets, etc…you get the point!

Over the last few years, I have started my penguin collection again – going above and beyond the fluffy stuffed animals.  Here are some adorable penguin accessories I wanted to share with you…(not from my own collection…but fun new stuff!)

ModCloth is great for unique collections, such as owls, penguins, deer, and mushrooms!

Penguin Totebag!

Penguin Paperclips!

Penguin Ice Cream Scooper!

If you are a techie…there is penguin love for you too!

Penguin Mouse!

Penguin Earbuds!

And who can forget cute home accessories!!!

Penguin Cocktail Set!

Penguin Tea Timer!

Penguin Glass Figurine – Fenton (Williamstown, WV)

Penguin Art – Etsy

What have you collected in the past and/or what is your current obsession?

10 thoughts on “Wednesday Whatabouts: Collections!

  1. Have I mentioned what a refreshing break in the day your blog is for me? It’s a wonderful 5 minute time out in my workday. Keep writing! You have many avid readers who enjoy it. 🙂

    And what do I collect? Pink elephants. 🙂 It started because I loved the “Pink Elephants on Parade” animated sequence in Disney’s “Dumbo” (which, by the way, is the only surviving example of Surrealist animation!), but then it just grew from there. They’re very difficult to find but very cute when you do! My 2 favorite ones are 1) a blown glass one I got in Georgia on a road trip in college, and 2) a GIGANTIC stuffed one from CareBears that Matt Downing gave me one Christmas at Muskingum, for no apparent reason. But it makes me smile every time I see it. 🙂

    • Candice…just so you know…I love that!! I immediately went to google images in search of pink elephants! HOW. FUN. 🙂

      And thank you for your kind words!! It makes me happy that a quick peruse of my random thoughts is a good break in the day!!

    • Kristin – I think it’s awesome you found your way over here!! P.S. In case you didn’t notice, I referenced your blog AND your snack ideas in yesterday’s post!! And your husband rocks if he likes penguins as much as me!! 🙂

  2. I use to collect fridge magnets of different countries,but gave up when I ran out of Fridge space LOL
    What is your favourite penguin from your collection?

    • Ess – I also love fridge magnets!! Did you try to cover the side of the fridge too? 🙂 Oh…my favorite penguin accessory…I have to think long and hard on that one! I, of course, love love love my penguin ornament tree! Each year I find new penguin (or two) to add! I also received the cutest lil’ Wine Stopper that is made of glass and decorated as a festive penguin as a gift! One of my tops. And lastly, back in California, Nick found this lil’ wooden carved antique penguin that sits on the fireplace hearth. It was a complete surprise…very thoughtful gift! I will include pics of my collection in another post 🙂

  3. Oh my gosh, I love all of those penguins! I just had a major flashback of the sorority days. 🙂

    I love collecting mugs. I have one from almost everywhere I go. There is nothing more fun than having your morning cup of coffee and being reminded of past adventures and travels.

  4. I love the penguin paper clips – I might just have to get some of these 🙂

    When I was in high school I used to collect frog things – I got rid of my collection and now I just collect technology (Apple) things instead :-p

Leave a Reply

