Lean Review – Week 11

Today, I officially hit the 10 lb. loss mark!  I know…10 lbs. in 11 weeks…it took some time!  And some may think 10 lbs isn’t that much – but I have been on this journey for over a year now.  When I started this blog, I had my eyes set on losing that last 15 lbs – and then finding a way to maintain.  I am almost there!!  There have been many excuses…many slip-ups…many unmotivated days over the course of the last year, but I have finally decided…

NO MORE EXCUSES!

“I just don’t have the time.”
“I’m too tired.”
“I’ll look silly.”
“I’ll work out EXTRA hard tomorrow.”

via Jogger's Life

If you find yourself backing out of exercise with the same old lines…it IS time for you to get a new act (and I mean that in a nice way!)  Try these techniques for combating the whispers that smother your motivation:

  • Avoid all or nothing. It’s inevitable that you’re going to miss a day (or 2 – or 3) — your child is sick, you had to stay late at work, etc.  But don’t let a slip cause you to give it up all together! Commit to starting again the next day with a physical activity that’s fun and invigorating. Power-walk around the building on your lunch break.  Double-time your pace when you have to climb a flight of stairs.  Sprint with your kids back and forth at the park.
  • Wake yourself up. Exercise actually boosts energy levels, so it can be exactly what you need when you’re down and out. Stretch first and splash some cold water on your face to cue your body that it’s time to work out.
  • Forget the reflection. Worried about what others think? Try getting active at home.  Buy a workout DVD… and use it!  You will start to build confidence in your movements and also have a chance to get to know your body…how it moves, how it reacts.

And remember, you are your greatest critic!  Everyone else is spending time assessing themselves – not others.

I found an article on WebMD that lists “10 Motivational Tips to Keep You Healthy” on their website.  I especially like #’s 1, 4, 8, and 10.

     1.  Feel Good About Yourself Today.
     4.  Make Simple Daily Changes.
     8.  Remember that Change Takes Time.
   10.  Celebrate Each Day’s Journey.

You can check out WebMD for the full list of motivating tips! 

WEEK 11 LEAN REVIEW
03.08.2011:
Walk – 2.00 Miles – 29:49 Minutes
Walk – 1.32 Miles – 20:07 Minutes

03.09.2011:
Walk – 1.99 Miles – 29:57 Minutes

03.10.2011:
Walk – 1.95 Miles – 29:28 Minutes
Elliptical – Workout #1 – 30 Minutes

03.11.2011:
Walk – 2.04 Miles – 30:13 Minutes
Elliptical – Workout #1 – 30 Minutes
Walk – 1.46 Miles – 22:02 Minutes

03.12.2011:
Walk – 2.15 Miles – 32:27 Minutes
Elliptical – Workout #1 – 30 Minutes
Walk – 2.01 Miles – 30:40 Minutes

03.13.2011:
Walk – 2.11 Miles – 30:28 Minutes
Elliptical – Workout #1 – 30 Minutes
Walk – 1.18 Miles – 19:31 Minutes

03.14.2011:
Walk – 2.04 Miles – 30:23
Stationary Bike – 17.0 Miles – 30:24 Minutes (No Resistance)

Today is NO EXCUSE Tuesday.  What are you going to do about it?

3 thoughts on “Lean Review – Week 11

  1. “Change takes time” is my favorite one also! Most people want instant results and it just doesn’t happen like that.

    It’s rainy here today and I would love nothing more than to go home after work, sit on the couch, and read a book or take a mini cat nap. But I’m going to force myself to the yoga studio and remind myself that the rain will make the practice a relaxing one today. Something I really need. 🙂

  2. Way to go!!!! That is awesome!! This post was just what I needed, as I was just sitting here saying, “I don’t feel like working out today….I’ll just go extra hard tomorrow…” So off to the gym I go!!! Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

