Daydream Adventure: Ireland

Please join me as my mind wanders to…

ÉIRE…or…IRELAND!

Dingle Peninsula, Killarney, Co. Kerry (via Frommer’s)

How appropriate for the month of March, as Irish heritage is celebrated by many across the country and the world.  Growing up in my house, it was a well-known fact that I am part Irish – my grandmother on my mother’s side was born and raised in Ireland.  Uh-huh…my “feistiness” actually has roots! 

Even though I still have lots of family in Ireland…I have yet to go there!  I always thought a 3-generation trip (me, my mother, and my grandmother) would be soothing to the soul…

Perched on the northwest tip of Europe, this is the one place in the world where even time getting lost will be worthwhile… With ancient myths and legends to uncover, amazing landscapes to explore, and locals who will be more than happy to reveal their hidden gems, you can just go where the island of Ireland takes you!  You are guaranteed to return home with memories that will last a lifetime!

So where do we start?!  East: Dublin, County Wicklow; North: Belfast, Counties Londonderry & Donegal; West: Galway, Clare & Limerick; South: Counties Kerry, Tipperary, Cork, & Carlow….I want to experience them all!

Take a stroll with me through the capital of Ireland – Dublin:

The streets of Dublin (via Frommer’s)

River Liffey through the heart of Dublin (via Frommer’s)

Ha’Penny Bridge over River Liffey (via Frommer’s)

St. Patrick’s National Cathedral for the Church of Ireland (via Frommer’s)

Dublin Writer’s Museum – 4 Nobel Laureates in Literature (via Frommer’s)

Leo Burdock – fish & chips (via Frommer’s)

Temple Bar District (via Frommer’s)Auld Dubliner (via Frommer’s)

Auld Dubliner (via Frommer’s)

A wee peek of County Wicklow…

The winding roads of County Wicklow (via Frommer’s)

Celtic crosses still stand at Glendalough (via Frommer’s)

Now we can head North, on to Belfast & Counties Londonderry & Donegal…

Belfast City Hall & Ferris Wheel (via Frommer’s)

Belfast Castle (via Frommer’s)

Blackhead Lighthouse (via Frommer’s)

Murals which showcase political convictions & turbulent histories (via Frommer’s)

Donegal Bay Coast (via Frommer’s)

On over to Counties Galway & Clare & Limerick…

Medieval Quarter, Galway (via Frommer’s)

Galway Bay (via Frommer’s)

Cliffs of Moher, County Clare (via Frommer’s)

Then head down to Counties Kerry, Cork, Tipperary, and Carlow…

Iveragh & Dingle Peninsulas (via Frommer’s)

Blennerville Windmill, Tralee, Co. Kerry (via Frommer’s)

Knockreer Estate, Killarney, Co. Kerry

O’Flaherty’s (via Frommer’s)

The Rock, Co. Tipperary

Arches over River Nore in Inistioge, Co. Kilkenny

And before we leave this magical place, there are a few things you won’t want to miss!

  • Don’t forget to head over to Blarney! There you can kiss the Blarney Stone, the legendary Stone of Eloquence, found at the top of the Tower. If you kiss it, you’ll never again be lost for words!
Kiss the Blarney Stone! (via Google images)
  • Head over to the three Aran Islands: Inis Mór Island (Big Island), Inis Meáin Island (Middle island), and Inis Oírr Island (East island).  They are famous for their geological formation, historical monuments, and their linguistic and cultural heritage. The Irish(Gaelic) language is still spoken here!

Horse Carriage at Dun Aengus (via Frommer’s)

  • And don’t leave Ireland without a fabulous hand-knit sweater!

Irish hand-knit sweater! (via Frommer’s)

*SIGH* – I do love to daydream…and I hope you enjoyed exploring with me!  Slán go fóill…or…Goodbye for now!

What is your heritage?  Have you been there to visit? 

My Daydream List is just that – a list of adventures and places that would otherwise fill my bulletin boards, drawers, and notebooks. It includes rugged terrain and serene beaches, oceanic endeavors and oriental exploration — anything and everything that makes my heart beat faster. It is not a bucket list, there is no box to be checked, or expectation to be filled. Instead, it is a list of opportunities, and I hope to take on several of them in my lifetime. ~Adapted from 4th & Flatiron’s Adventure List! She stated exactly what I was thinking!! ~

4 thoughts on “Daydream Adventure: Ireland

  1. Love this post!!! I’m like 98% Irish and 2% German… never been to either country but would absolutely love to go! Ireland looks absolutely beautiful. What a great idea for the 3-generation trip out there. 🙂

  2. Loved the blog Jen.. Blarney is only a few miles from us and is where we take all our visitors LOL Not that any of them need the “Gift of the Gab”..I think your Mum may have been there when she was little It was when your parents were stationed in England and they came over with Aunty Fran and her children..Think there were about three adults and 6 children and one teenager (Uncle Mike) that travelled there in a Mini cooper LOL how did they all fit in? from Carlow to Blarney..and I remember I was sulking because they didn’t take me too!!! LOL

  3. Uh-oh… I think I need to go back and kiss the Blarney Stone again. I’ve lost my gift of the gab!!! Come to think of it, it didn’t work at all for me. I must have passed that “gift” on somehow to your Aunt Collette and your brother. LOL Great post Jen!!!

Leave a Reply

