Blog Etiquette

I recently stumbled upon For The Love of Blogs – a cute site dedicated to exposing you as much as possible to new and exciting bloggers!

As I was perusing their site, I discovered a “Blogging Tips” section – and thought it was really good (especially since I am a newbie myself)!  I won’t post the entire list…but merely highlight the few that stood out for me.  Who knew there was blogging etiquette?! 

3-Create an about me and contact page. It’s important for people to find out about you. We wanna know who we’re dealing with. And if we have questions, we want to email you.

Logo via Is Cute

9-Include photos. I personally love a ton of photos. Some people don’t. But put a mix of photos in your posts and you’ll be good to go. We don’t want to hear about the handbag you just bought without seeing what it looks like. Your description isn’t good enough. Show it off.

11Comment Love. Yes. It’s that important. If someone is kind enough to stop by your place and leave a sincere note, then return the love when you get a chance.

via Michael Hyatt

18-Guest Post. It’s a really nice thing to be a guest once in a while. And allow others to be a guest of yours. If you’re going to be on vacation, look for some guests ahead of time and schedule those posts while you are away.

via lyricsdog

21-Be real. Say whatever it is that you want to say. It’s your blog. People fall in love with you for who you are not what you pretend to be.

22-Remember that a successful blog doesn’t happen overnight. It takes work. Sometimes as much as a full-time job. So be patient in growing your numbers and get out there as much as possible.

via The World According to Gem

So it looks like the next item on my blogging list is to host a Guest!  Oh-la-la…looking forward to it!

Yeah – I have to admit that when I first started, I wasn’t sharing the comment love.  I loved that person would comment on my post – and I would visit theirs, but not leave a comment.  Now I always reply back to new commenters!

Have you run into any Blog Etiquette No-No’s?

2 thoughts on “Blog Etiquette

  1. Great post! I really need to add more real life pics to mine… but I’m just so lazy. 😉 I’ll get there! One thing I definitely need to learn is patience. It’s easy to see your ratings low and to give up… but success definitely takes patience. 🙂 and pics. 😉

    P.S. Unrelated: I cannot wait to see you!

Leave a Reply

