Lean Review: Week 13

 

via Google Images (balance)

How to Find Balance
The pursuit of balance in an otherwise chaotic world is one of my most tireless tasks! I seem to always have too much of one thing — and not enough of another.  Sometimes it feels like I can’t find the happy medium between “insanely busy” and “just plain bored.” Does this ever happen to you?

A few months ago I attended a “7 Habits of Highly Effective People” seminar at my work.  I will likely explore this topic more in the coming months, but any time I am feeling overwhelmed, I revisit the workbook.  Below is the “Time Management Matrix’ presented by Stephen R. Covey.  A good place to start for you to 1) Put First Things First! and 2) Focus on Important Tasks!  Below that are a few practical tips when things get too out of whack!

1. Refocus on your priorities. What is really important right now? Are you focusing on things that aren’t really relevant? Take a moment to take inventory and rededicate yourself to your goals and the people who are most important to you.  Ask yourself, “Is this task important? Is it urgent?” Use the answer to these two questions to determine what your next course of action is. If it’s neither important nor urgent, move on to something that is one or the other, or both.

2. Listen to your body. Do you feel rundown? Are you burning the candle at both ends? Chances are, your body will send you signs when enough is enough! Sometimes I’m the victim of my own to-do list and before I know it, I’m way in over my head with commitments. Disconnect for a while, regroup, and delegate if necessary. Ask for help from those who love you. This also applies to those of us who love to exercise.  Joint pain, sluggish workouts, and poor performance are a clue that you are due a break. There’s a reason we sleep at night! We need to restore our systems so we are raring to go the next day!

3. Make sure you spend a little time each day doing something you love. Do you love to read? Do you love to watch Law & Order? Do you love to play outside with your kids? Do you love to sleep? Make sure you have an ounce of ME time each day — do whatever it is that makes you happy!

WEEK 13 LEAN REVIEW
03.22.2011:
Cycle – 2.83 Miles – 15:10 Minutes

03.23.2011:
Elliptical – Workout #2 – 30:30

03.24.2011:
Run – 2.10 Miles – 19:59 Minutes

03.25.2011:
Day Off (Yardwork – Mowing/Landscaping)

03.26.2011:
5K Race Recap
Run – 3.10 Miles – 27:17 Minutes (8:55 Average Mile)

03.27.2011:
Run – 1.58 Miles – 15:50 Minutes (Relaxed Run…No Music…No Timer)

03.28.2011:
Day Off (Yardwork – Mowing/Landscaping)

What do you do when you’re feeling overwhelmed? I’d love to hear your tips!

2 thoughts on “Lean Review: Week 13

  1. I am definitely trying to find the happy medium between really busy and boredom. So far, I’m at the extreme of either. When I feel overwhelmed, I make a to-do list. If there is a lot on my list, I break it down in sections and sometimes space it out in a couple of days. Spacing it out helps me overcome feeling overwhelmed when there are a gazillion things to do. I also put on the list “practice yoga” or “read”… if you put it on the list, you HAVE to do it! 😉

    Is it bad if one becomes overwhelmed at being bored, too?

  2. Katie – I am totally overwhelmed with being bored. Where I work my mind is not challenged at all and I often sit around being bored all day – thus my current mode to work on changing myself and my habits!

    Currently when I get overwhelmed, I shut down. I turn to being a sloth and not doing much. Note to self and everyone else – I am not a fan of this behavior.

    To combat this cycle I am working out more and really trying to think about what it is that I want from life. I am going part time at work because I am insanely bored there and I am focusing more on my Mary Kay business because I love it and it gives me energy! It is a scary step to leave what has become “comfortable” – a steady income without too much thinking. But that is just it – I want to think – I want to challenge myself – I want it to be hard because I don’t want to be mediocre!

    I am glad that you are talking about your experience with the 7 Habits – one of my grad school classes about Human Development is including these ideas because it is important to be a leader when you are a teacher! I am looking forward to learning more. I am currently listening to some John C. Maxwell CDs and hope to blog about what I am learning 🙂

Leave a Reply

