Inspirations

The last few weeks, I have been prepping for my second race of the season – the Covington Junior League’s Spring Stomp 5K.  The trouble is, I have just felt out of it all week! I am in desperate need for some inspiration…

Sometimes it’s nice to step back and remind ourselves of why we run.

One of the things that I love about running is that I can do it alone. Don’t get me wrong, I am a social person and enjoy the company of others, but it’s during a few hours of solitude every couple of days that I get to do some deep thinking, gut checking, and dreaming.

One of my favorite parts of running a race is seeing the 70 and 80-year-old men and women running healthy and happy all the way to the finish line. I imagine being like them someday and inspiring others around me without saying a single word, just like they have inspired me.

Silhouette of Girl Running (via Google Images)

I get a lot of people who ask me why I continue to put in mile after mile each week.  There are a myriad of reasons, but the first thing that comes to mind is that running is clearly a core part of my life.  And it’s inspiring to see other runners share the same sentiment:

I LOVE THIS: “I fell in love with you logging miles in the summer heat. This love grew and grew and grew during cool fall mornings running across dew covered fields with hundreds of other bony and slightly awkward girls.” AND LOVE THIS: “After college I’d string you along. We’d have a good few weeks together and then go months without even speaking. I thought about you a lot but was too afraid to call on you again, figuring you’d betray me and make me feel a fool.” (From Kimi at A Slice of Kiwi)

I LOVE THIS: “I run because I love it. It is my favorite thing to do in the world, the part of the day where I feel most myself . While out pounding the pavement, I am able to transcend to a different place, a place where I can do my best problem-solving, or where I can daydream of my future, or fondly reflect on my favorite memories, and a place where I feel the closest to God.” (From Molly at Mollyberries Hodge Podge)

As for me -I need to remember that not every race is going to be a PR.  However, every time I lace up those shoestrings, I am further along the path to rediscovering my passion for running.

Leave a Reply

