5K: Spring Stomp

Tee & Waterbottle!

Yesterday I ran my second 5K race of 2011!

Since this was an evening race, I started off my Saturday nice and relaxing! I made breakfast, took it back to the bedroom, and ate while watching “Eat, Pray, Love.”  (A feel-good chick-flick, by the way!)  Then I showered, ate lunch, and ran some errands. And finally, I took Mario outside in the back yard and we played/I read for an hour before I started getting my race gear on. The race was to start and end at the Covington Trailhead, part of the Tammany Trace, which is an old Railroad that was converted to walking/bike path, and runs 28 miles from Covington to Mandeville to Slidell.  Check-in was at 4:30 pm – the 1-mile was scheduled for 5:30 pm – and my 5K was scheduled for ~6:00 pm.  As it was a beautiful, sunny, 78* outside, my plan was to keep in the shade and stay well hydrated until the start of the race.

Covington Trailhead

So imagine my surprise when I get there and they don’t have my registration!  This is the second time my online registrations have not been validated.  Well, the committee was nice about it and just asked that I fill out the paperwork again.  Then I got my number (138), and waited around for the start of the race.  I walked around the area quite a bit, then did some active stretches…and then toed the line! 

Ready for a 5K!

This race was a fundraiser for the Covington Junior League.  

The race was pretty fast – mostly a flat course.  We did a 1/4 mile loop around the local cemetery, then completed miles 1 & 2 as a straight stretch up and back.  There was a water station at mile 1, so we could hit it up once on the way down, and then again on the way back.  It was a pretty warm day!  Mile 3 took us back down another loop and ended with a 1/4 mile sprint to the finish back at the Trailhead.

Last month’s race (Fun on the TcheFUNcte) landed me with a 27:17 finishing time.  Although I was secretly hoping to beat that, I wasn’t really feeling my best this week.  I took a few much-needed days off from working out when my bestie came to visit last weekend.  Although we did a ton of walking, I could feel my lungs gasping for air this week during my cardio workouts.  So I was actually aiming for a 27-28 minute finish.  But once I started, I actually felt good…I felt relaxed.  When I looked at my time for the first 1/2 mile, I was at an 8:40 pace…the same as my first race!  I ended Mile 1 at 8:37!  I then found my pacer…a young woman about 10 yards ahead of me.  I decided that I would not let the gap get any larger…that I would run whatever she ran.  And again, I surprised myself!  Mile 2 was 8:48 and I busted out Mile 3 in 8:41!  A strong, steady run.  My official time was 25:52 – my new PR!  I placed 2nd in my age group, and was 6th or 7th overall female. (My RunKeeper stats say the course was 2.97 miles, so my average pace was 8:42…the course states it was 3.1 miles, so my average pace would have been 8:21.  I will stick with my RunKeeper results to be fair!)

Me (totally sweaty) after my 5K!

And the coolest part, I made a friend after the race!  There was a girl who was right on my heels the entire race, I mean I could literally hear her breathing behind me, and she came up to me after the race and we started chatting.  She works part-time (after her full-time job) at a local gym teaching “RIP” or cardio classes.  We chatted throughout the entire awards ceremony and to the end of the doorprizes.  I am very interested in checking out her classes…maybe something fun to do once or twice a month!  

Also – I won one of the doorprizes – a $50 gift certificate to a local photographer!  Hmm…maybe something for me and the hubs to do for our anniversary?!  Or better yet, a family shot for Christmas…I always wanted to do that!

Overall – very happy that I decided to race today! 

Next Race:  To Be Determined.  We are planning a trip home in the month of May…and the hubs has an extra 2-weeks off from work…so I may be waiting until June to fully commit to a race.  But I know that I will be trying to incorporate a few sprint drills, and also one extra long run…maybe attempt that 5-miler that’s been in the back of my mind.

One thought on “5K: Spring Stomp

Leave a Reply

