7 Habits Overview

Hello fellow readers & bloggers!  I bet you have been sitting on pins & needles awaiting my introduction to “The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People.”  This course was offered through my work, and I signed up, at the time, just for the fun of it.  But after sitting in and listening, I was really ready to challenge myself to achieve better effectiveness in my personal and interpersonal life! 

A quick overview from the class:

The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People help you lead your life in a truly effective way.  The habits build on each other, creating a process of personal & interpersonal growth & development.  By practicing these habits, you can expect to:

  • Gain control over your life
  • Get focused and organized
  • Enhance your relationships
  • Improve your communication
  • Achieve work/life balance

If any this looks like something you are interested in – I will be reviewing each of the habits, once a week, in order to share with you what I gained from the class. If you aren’t interested – just skip over those days! I hope you enjoy!!

One of the first things you will learn about are “paradigms” (pronounced like PAIR-A-DIMES) or the ways you see and understand the world.  If you want significant changes in your life, you must first change your paradigm – the way you SEE things.  When you SEE a situation a certain way, you tend to DO things that support your attitude.  What you GET in turn influences your paradigm.

You will learn that what you are – your character and values – communicates more than what you say and do.

One of the first exercises is to “Identify one of your ineffective habits.”  Write down your paradigm about this habit, the behavior you demonstrate when you practice it, and the result you are getting.  THEN…identify how you can turn your ineffective habit into an effective habit.

EXAMPLES:

Next week I will introduct Habit 1: Be Proactive.

Until then…

 

 Have you taken a course or workshop through work – or on your own – which has helped you?

One thought on “7 Habits Overview

  1. Hmmm. I like the idea of paradigms, and that’s something I’m struggling with.. but working on. I just get too wound up about stuff sometimes.

Leave a Reply

