Fit Bit (semi) Review

So I was eating lunch with a friend a while back, and she was super excited about getting her “Fitbit.”  I actually had no idea what it was – so I was a bit shocked when she reached down into her shirt, and produced this tiny lil’ thing:

So what IS a Fit Bit?

My friend wears hers clipped to her bra – but you can also wear it on your waist band.  You click a little button and it shows you how many steps you have taken, calories you have burned, miles you have traveled, and how active you are.  

I do tend to track my food every now and then – especially when I want to make sure I am refueling properly – so I have always wondered how many calories I burn in a day.  I have found all kinds of calculations online based on your activity level, etc, but I never know just how accurate it is.  The Fitbit website claims it is 95-97% accurate on step counting and that is uses calorie data similar to that from energy expenditure measurement devices used in clinical research.

And to make things easier, all your data is uploaded onto a website where you can peruse your habits (good and bad) and analyze your data. 

And my favorite feature – the sleep tracker.  When you go to bed, you put the Fitbit in a wrist band and hit start so it knows you are in bed.  It them tracks your sleep patterns throughout the night, showing you how long you were in bed, how many times you woke up, and how long you actually slept.  I don’t know why, but this really fascinates me.  Maybe it would validate those nights where I feel like I didn’t sleep a wink?!

If you are looking for a tracker like this, I definitely would recommend this one.  At $99, it isn’t super expensive – although it’s not something I have yet ran out and bought for myself – that’s why this is a “semi” review.  However, two of my friends at work have it…and they love it!  They can also both login to the Fitbit website to see each others’ fitness goals and progress – a good feature in case you wanted to include people to keep you accountable!

Thank you, my friend, for sharing your awesome toy with me!

Do you have a pedometer, Fitbit, or other tracker that you are fond of?

6 thoughts on “Fit Bit (semi) Review

  1. I’ve heard of that before, it looks totally cool. At $99, it’s way too far away from my budget but ah well.

  2. Wow, that sleep tracker does sound cool! (anything to do with analysing sleep fascinates me!)
    I think having to sleep with a wristband on would annoy me though..
    Either way, seems like a pretty nifty little device! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Weekly Notables

Leave a Reply

