A Series of Disappointments…

Alas! Alas!  Life is full of disappointments; as one reaches one ridge there is always another and a higher one beyond which blocks the view. ~ Fridtjob Nansen.

Yes – this will be one of the few times you will see me as Negative Nancy…but we are all allowed to complain every now and again!

Last night I was supposed to participate in week #2 of the Varsity Sports Wacky Wednesday Summer Series.  The 2-mile trail ran through Fontainebleau State Park and was slated to start at 6:30 pm.  Registration began at 5:00 pm – and since I pre-registered, I arrived there around 5:45.    At 6:00, the dark clouds started rolling in.  At 6:20, ferocious rain hit!  At 6:30, they called for a 10-minute delay.  At 6:40, there was rumor of the storm passing…so they called another 10 minute delay.  Disappointment #1 –  At 6:55, they announced that due to the unrelenting lightning strikes, the race was cancelled.    They did offer games, food, and beer – since it was already set-up – but I wanted to head on home to try to get in a quick elliptical workout.  Lo & behold…there was NO WAY to get to my car without walking in 1/2 foot to 1 foot of water.  So…my running shoes got thoroughly soaked.

It was only a 5-minute drive home (with a quick stop to fill up my gas)…but by that time, the water-logged socks were really rubbing my newly formed blisters (from the NYC walking escapade).  So…I decided to not work out at all.  Disappointment #2 – I have YET to follow my new half-marathon training schedule.

Since I was not planning on being home so late and in such a sour mood…I did not have any dinner laid-out.  Disappointment #3 – I ate Lean Cuisine for dinner.

Somehow – I believe all the excitement of our anniversary…our NYC trip…other personal things going on in my life…the hubs leaving for offshore…and my overall sh!tty mood – I was just overcome with tiredness.  I could not, for the life of me, keep my eyes open.  I was spacing out during my dinner…and dozing off as I was doing my night reading.  The last I looked at the clock it was 9:17 pm.  And then I zonked out.  The hubs later called to check-in at 10:30 pm.  We chatted for a few, then I zonked out again.  Disappointment #4 – I was so tired that I do not think I was coherent enough to talk to the hubs – yet alone remember the conversation!  Now I have to wait until tonight to chat with him again.

Over the weekend, I had psyched myself up about running in the morning.  I mean…with 90+ degree heat and 50+ percent humidity in the afternoon/evenings…I was ready to try something new!  And of course, the alarm went off early this morning, I rolled over and tried to stare it down.  Disappointment #5 – I hit the snooze button, reset the alarm for an even LATER time than I normally get up, and fell back asleep.  Maybe next week?!

Of course, now that I have the majority of my negativity out of my system, I can only hope that it will get better from here!

Of course there will be disappointments and the way will not always be as I expected it.  But if it seemed easy, then that would be the time to worry that I am on the wrong path.  ~ Anne Perry.

2 thoughts on “A Series of Disappointments…

  1. Dear Negative Nancy,
    Look on the bright side – you’ve had your monthly share (and then some) of disappointments all in one day. So now you’re in the clear for the rest of the month! 😉

    Besides, if it weren’t for a few bad days now and then, you wouldn’t appreciate the good days near as much!!!

    Remember… It could always be worse.

    Put your right hand on your left shoulder and your left hand on your right shoulder and squeeze real tight. There, I’ve just given you a hug. 🙂

  2. I just want to say that even though these are “negative” things, knowing you and your bubbly self, it didn’t come across negative in the slightest. I imagined you laughing about it once it was all over. And we are all allowed these moments in life! I like what Mom said above!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

