Gulf Coast Training: Week 2

GULF COAST TRAINING – WEEK 2

Monday, 06.27.2011
Rest Day Scheduled 
3.02 Miles / 29:16 / 9:42 Average Pace

The weather looked pretty ominous for the next few days, so I decided to swap my Tuesday 3 mile run for today.

Tuesday, 06.28.2011
3 Miles  Scheduled
Cross-Train: 30 Minutes Elliptical, 15 Minute Nike Training Club App (Arm Definer )

I was scheduled to do an easy 3 miles today, but completed that workout on Monday.  And instead of a Rest Day, I decided to do a 30-minute workout on the Elliptical, followed by a 15-minute Nike Training Club App.  This app focused on defining your arms – and included a series of squats with arm pumps, modified push-ups, planks, etc.

Wednesday, 06.29.2011
Rest Day Scheduled
Rest

I took this day as a true Rest Day!

Thursday, 06.30.2011
4 Miles Scheduled
4.01 Miles / 39:29 / 9:51 Average Pace

I started out down at the Lakefront (about a mile) and then headed into the old part of town for miles 2 & 3.  Mile 4 started at the other end of the Lakefront and took me back to where I started.  Very beautiful run…slow and steady.

Start of my PM run.

Beginning of Old Mandeville & Trace

Passed the cemetery

And ended with the sun setting...

 Friday, 07.01.2011
Rest Day Scheduled
Rest

Another true Rest Day!  I scheduled a 5K race for Saturday morning and decided to rest up.

Saturday, 07.02.2011
3 Miles Scheduled
3.1 Miles / 27:55 / 9:06 Average Pace

On Saturday I ran the “Firecracker Fun Run” 5K at Fontainebleau State Park.  I didn’t pre-register for this race because I wasn’t sure what the weather was going to do.  So I set the alarm for 6:15 am…ate a Luna bar at 6:30…left the house at 6:50…and arrived at the Park at 7:00 for registration.  And I was surprised to see a pretty large turnout – especially for 4th of July weekend!  The pre-race sign-up was all pretty organized, and we started just about on time!  There was a 5K Run, followed shortly by a 5K Walk, then a 1 Mile Fun Run for the kiddies.  And it was HOT.  Even at 7:30 am.  The course pretty much followed the main roads in the park…it went up one road ~0.5 miles and back…then up another road to the Mile 2 marker…then ended just a smidge past the starting point.  I actually felt pretty slow, but just could not pick up my pace.  Mile 1 was 8:52, Mile 2 was 9:04, and Mile 3 was 9:07.  My previous 5Ks have started out a lil’ faster, but I am actually not disappointed with my time – not every race can be a PR!  I ended at 27:55.  Post-race was pretty fun!  They served us in true Louisiana style: Red Beans & Rice – and Snowcones!  They also had bananas, muffins, and Gatorade for the diehards.  Usually with out-and-back courses, I like to try to count my position and maintain by the next passing.  But I think girls mysteriously turned into boys by the end (or maybe I mis-counted) because I was pleasantly surprised to finish as the 9th overall female – and 2nd in my age group!  Huh…I thought I was pretty far back there!

Check back in the next day or two if you are interested in pics…I can’t get my phone to upload right now…

Sunday, 07.03.2011
5 Miles Scheduled
5.00 miles / 53:32 / 10:42 Average Pace

For some reason, this was an overall tough run for me!  I don’t know if it was because I raced the day before…or I waited too long in the am before I went out…but my time was significantly slower than the first time I attempted 5 miles.  And my time was SIGNIFICANTLY getting slower by the minute!!!  But, I kept chugging along, and actually ran the entire time.  I chose a 2.5 mile out-and-back route along the Tammany Trace.  Mile 1 was 9:47, Mile 2 was 10:15, Mile 3 was 11:07, Mile 4 was 11:17, Mile 5 was 11:04.

14 Weeks to Go!

 A Peek at this week’s training:

One thought on “Gulf Coast Training: Week 2

Leave a Reply

