Habit 1: Be Proactive

“How can I gain more control over my life?”  I had to ask myself this a few times just this week…so I thought it appropriate to share with y’all. 

7 Habits Overview post HERE

If you are ready to challenge yourself to achieve better effectiveness in your personal and interpersonal life – please read on.

Habit 1: Be Proactive.  This means having the freedom to choose and increasing your influence.  When you are proactive, you choose how you want to respond to circumstances instead of automatically reacting to them. 

Franklin Covey - Habit 1

Task 1 – Avoid Reactive Behavior & Language.  Reactive people respond to stimuli without thinking or controlling their reactions.  They react based on their moods in the heat of the moment.  Yeah, I know…who hasn’t done this?!  Reactive people say and do the following:

Task 2 – Practice Proactive Behavior & Language.  Proactive people stop long enough – sometimes just half a second – to allow themselves to choose a response based on their values & principles.  Half a second can change me? I’ll take it!  Proactive people do and say the following:

Task 3 – Focus on What You Can Influence.  You can divide events and circumstances into two categories: things you can influence through choices (Circle of Influence) and things that may concern you but that you have little to no influence over (Circle of Concern).  Proactive people focus on what they can influence and don’t worry about what they can’t.  Pretty simple, right?! 

One of the exercises is to “Think about a challenge you face at work or in your personal life.”  In the circle below, write things about your challenge that fall within your Circle of Influence and your Circle of Concern.

 

Next  time I will introduce Habit 2: Begin With the End in Mind.

Until then…

What is your Proactive Focus of the day?  My focus was on job security…I worked on increasing my cirlce of influence while trying to let go of my circle of concern.

One thought on “Habit 1: Be Proactive

  1. I love this post, Jen! 🙂 It’s taken me almost 28 years, but I’ve slowly learned to focus on the things I can control and stopped worrying about things out of my control. That is NOT an easy task! I’m also trying really hard not to worry about something that is going to happen in the future – but instead trying to live for today.

Leave a Reply

