Yogurt – *Gag*gurt

Hello friends!  So this is probably TMI – but I gag EVERY time I eat yogurt.  Now, a sane person might pipe up and say, “Why don’t you just not eat yogurt?”  Why, that is a very astute observation, my friend, but the truth is, I want to like yogurt.  I really, really do!  Don’t you want to be that woman who in the commercials is savoring that delicate yogurt on her spoon, eyes up to heaven, and dreaming of paradise?!

Not to mention the fact that yogurt has practically taken over the dairy aisle in supermarkets.  I figure, with this much prime real estate, there must be something there for me!

Ok- if I’m being honest here, most likely this gag reflex is due to the fact that I learned that many yogurts are made using active, good bacteria.  Yeah, I know your body needs to have a healthy amount of ”good” bacteria in the digestive tract – but every time I bring that spoonful of yogurt to my mouth I feel my superman x-ray vision spring to life and show me thousands of tiny, squirming, bacteria itching to get into my mouth.  uugghh. 

Second.  The smell.  I mean, just taking the lid off the yogurt cup makes me gag when I get a whiff.  To me, this is the equivalent of swimming in sauerkraut.  uugghh.  It literally makes me shudder!

Some people attribute all of this due to the fact that yogurt is a dairy product.  Which is ironic, because I LOVE LOVE LOVE cheese.  Mold. Coagulated Milk.  Yummy.  Curds & Whey, a.k.a. cottage cheese? Yes, please!

Other people attribute it to texture.  Now, there are certain foods that I absolutely cannot eat due to texture, a.k.a. onions, mushrooms, but nope!  I love pudding – warm or cold!  I also love Cheesecake.  Both so decadent and creamy.  Next excuse – step right up!

The hubs thinks this is a “gag reflex of fiction.”  He has made it his personal mission to help me find my yogurt soul-mate.  Vanilla, strawberry, strawberry-banana, with candy, with granola, with fruit. 

Enter my parade of yogurt treats:

YoCrunch - Reese's

YoCrunch m&m's

Yoplait w/Granola

*SIGH* So far, I have only been able to stomach yogurt in a Smoothie.  What…mask the flavor, smell, and taste and I like it?!  Who knew?! However, I will continue on my quest to find my perfect *gag*urt – I mean, yogurt.

Is there a food that you desperately WANT to like?

4 thoughts on “Yogurt – *Gag*gurt

  1. Hysterical! The Reese and M&M ones look delicious! 🙂

    I really want to learn to drink tea. Hot and cold. I cannot stomach it for the life of me, but I really, really, really want to! Nate said he wants to make a big pitcher of sun tea (is that what it’s called when you let it sit in the sun?) but it’d go to waste if he’s the only one drinking it. I told him to make it and I’ll force myself to drink it until I like it. Hopefully that’ll be one day soon!

      • How funny, Kathy! 🙂 You’re a few days ahead of me… I’m kinda dragging my feet here. My boyfriend thought it would be a good idea to start out slowly with an Arnold Palmer (lemonade and tea) and I liked it! Maybe one day I’ll be as brave as you and progress to the real thing. 🙂 I hope you end up liking it.

Leave a Reply

