1 Year Ago…

On August 20, 2010, I went for a run.  I “ran” 2 miles in 25 minutes (12:30 min/mile).   I just laced up a pair of shoes and ran around the neighborhood.  No watch, no phone, no water, no music.  I thought my lungs had exploded and my legs were permanently turned to jello!   And of course, I could barely walk for 2 days.  I had just gotten to the point that I desperately needed to lose weight…and just plain missed running…and I felt that I needed to start somewhere.  (For a complete history on my love/hate relationship with running, catch up in this post HERE.) 

On August 20,2011, I went for a run.  I ran 8 miles in 1 Hour, 21 Minutes (10:09 min/mile).  And I felt great!  I’ve been fitted for a proper running shoe.  I track my distance, speed, and time.  I sometimes listen to music.  And I carry a handheld water bottle to help brave the southern heat. 

It has been a long journey to get where I am now.  One whole year.  Lots of ups and downs, physically and mentally.  And I have used Couch to 5K (C25K), Jillian Michaels, Yoga, the Elliptical, and the hubby to keep me motivated. I remember how excited I was to finally break my mental barrier of running more than 30 minutes.  And my first 5-miler flew by without a single negative thought – finishing with a 9:50 min/mile pace!  But I also remember how excruciatingly hard my first 7-miler was to complete.   And I still experience the phantom pain of my long-ago knee injury…a constant reminder to listen to my body.

I ran my first “adult” 5K in March 2011, one week after my 28th birthday, with a finishing time of 27:17.  I then ran a couple more 5Ks – added a couple of 4-milers to try out some speed work – and in May 2011, I decided to take the plunge and register for my first half marathon – the Gulf Coast Half Marathon on the Louisiana Northshore.  In honor of this “runniversary,” I decided to count up my miles for this past year.  I have run a grand total of 215.17 miles!   And I have completed 82 sessions on the elliptical – 30 minutes each (2,460 minutes ~ 246 miles at a 10:00 min/mile pace).

In addition to the growing miles, I have grown as a runner.  Running makes me feel powerful, strong, motivated, and like an athlete again.  For me, it’s as simple as getting out the door and putting one foot in front of the other, and not accepting anything less than my best. 

Thank you for joining me in this journey!

3 thoughts on “1 Year Ago…

Leave a Reply

