Gulf Coast Half Marathon Goals

Sunday marks my FIRST Half Marathon!  In a few days, I’ll be lining up with hundreds of other runners (race cap is 2,000 runners) – who likely know what they are doing – and will be completing my first ever 13.1 mile race.  Did I mention I’ve never ran 13 miles before?!  I have been looking forward to this since May, when I first took the plunge and registered. Revisit my post HERE.  Crazy, no?!

Nonetheless, it’s almost here and I’m super excited (and a lil’ nervous). I really don’t know what to expect – but have diligently kept up with my fellow running bloggers so that I can feel a lil’ bit more at ease.  So without further adieu, my race goals:

GOAL A:  Sub 2 hours, 5 minutes.  This could be possible…if I shave 30 seconds off my current per mile training pace, I can finish in 2 hours, 4 minutes!  The reason I throw this bone of a goal out there is that I ran a 9:26 min/mile average pace on my last long 8 mile run.  Due to the cooler weather…and possible extra energy from having other runners around me…this is a goal…albiet a lofty one!

GOAL B:  Sub 2 hours, 15 minutes.  This is my most realistic goal.  I have been training at a 10 min/mile pace for the last four months.  If I do this right, I can finish in 2 hours, 12 minutes.  If I shave even a small 15 seconds off my current pace, I can finish in 2 hours, 8 minutes!

GOAL C:  Finish. Oh yeah – and be thankful I’m able to run and enjoy the day.  I know this is always a good goal – but seeing how it’s my first at this distance – it’s especially good here!

So there you have it!  Wish me luck!!

P.S. Any tips for a first half marathon?

5 thoughts on “Gulf Coast Half Marathon Goals

  1. I can’t believe it’s race time already! Where does the time go. I’ll be cheering from WV!!!! Here’s wishing you luck!!!
    Just remember, the hard part (the training) is already done. This will just be a jog in the park. OK, a LONG jog. But hey, what’s a couple more miles 😉

Leave a Reply

