2012 Rock ‘n’ Roll New Orleans Half

Remember in this post HERE, where I got my first “click happy high” from registering for the Gulf Coast Half Marathon?  Yep – I did it again!  I just clicked “Register” on the 2012 Rock ‘n’ Roll New Orleans Half (also known as the Mardi Gras Marathon).  Yes folks, that is another 13.1 Miles!  And it is on my NOLA Bucket List!

Did I really just do that? 

The event is held on March 4, 2012 – so plenty of time to train again.  The last 4-5 weeks have been a bit hard on me without a training schedule in mind – I’ve determined that I am the type of person that needs a goal in mind to really get the best results.  So now that I have committed, I am going to document it all here for you to follow along/laugh/wince in pain!  So why another half marathon?  I’ll be honest with you – I’m not sold on the idea of a marathon.  That is a HUGE time committment.  And a huge mental step for me.  And I actually really enjoyed the 13.1 mile distance.  Training for the Gulf Coast Half Marathon took me up to 11 Miles in 16 weeks – and it was easy (or relatively easy) for me to follow.  The long distances on the weekends were perfect timing for my hubby who prefers to cross-train.  And now that I have already completed one half – I can now challenge myself for a new PR!

Although I liked my 16 week training program, I am looking around for others to compare.   Once I find a few to compare – I would like to post them all here for you!  More to come soon!

And call me crazy – but I’m EXCITED!!!

If you have trained for a half marathon, would you send me your favorite training plan? 

2 thoughts on “2012 Rock ‘n’ Roll New Orleans Half

Leave a Reply

