My 2011 Book Retreat

In 2011 I set a goal for myself to read two books per month.  I crushed that goal by the end of July, so I decided to up my goal to 36 books.  I completed that goal in mid November – so I kept on reading!  I ended 2011 with 42 books!  

Also of literary note – I joined (co-created) a book club!  We started early July, hoping to read a book every month and a half.  We made it through 2 books: The Help by Kathryn Stockett and Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen.  First up for 2012 is The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson.

For 2012, I am going to set the same goal of 36 books.  I would like to introduce a few Classics, Young Adults (such as the rest of the Pretty Little Liars series, and Non-Fictions (I have started John Glenn: A Memoir).

Please be my friend on GOODREADS if you aren’t already!  You can share your recommendations and thoughts with me!  And I love the fact that if I see something I like, I can just add it to my “To Be Read” shelf!  

Happy Reading! 

4 thoughts on “My 2011 Book Retreat

  1. I have a couple recommendations:

    “The Violets of March” by Sarah Jio (got lost in this one)
    “Seriously… I’m Kidding” by Ellen DeGeneres (had me cracking up – out loud)
    “Night Road” by Kristin Hannah (read in one day)
    “61 Hours” by Lee Child (left me wanting more)

    I just downloaded “The Night Circus” by Erin Morgenstern. Heard some pretty amazing things about it. 🙂

    • I should clarify for The Violets of March, I wasn’t “lost” in the sense of being confused… I lost sense of my surroundings while reading it and felt like I was in the book. 🙂

Leave a Reply

