R&R NOLA Training: Weeks 1-5

Happy Thursday, everyone!

I feel that, for the most part, Thursdays are low-key.  So I thought I would use my day to give you a recap of my training for the 2012 Rock ‘n’ Roll New Orleans!

Procrastination is probably one of my top five favorite words in the English language, and because of that, I feel bad if I leave it out of anything I do.  So I just might need to back-pedal just a bit to get you all caught up from my weeks of recap procrastination.  Besides…the last eight weeks leading up to the race are the most exciting anyway, right?

And due to my inability to make a decision and stick with it…I debated for the first four weeks on whether to use Hal Higdon’s training plan, or Runner’s World Smart Coach program.  I have another post coming up soon about choosing the right training plan, but I finally decided on using Hal Higdon’s Intermediate Half Marathon Training Plan.  The program has 5 days of running, including one day of sprint/tempo and one long run, and then two Rest/Strength days.  Weeks 1-3 were light on training, mostly due to the fact of traveling over the holidays.  I’m not saying that’s an excuse…that’s just what it is! 

ROCK ‘N’ ROLL TRAINING – WEEK 1
16 Goal Miles; 19 Actual Miles (Runner’s World Plan)

ROCK ‘N’ ROLL TRAINING – WEEK 2
17 Goal Miles; 5.5 Actual Miles + Lots of Walking (Hal Higdon Plan)

ROCK ‘N’ ROLL TRAINING – WEEK 3
12.5 Goal Miles; 6 Actual Miles + 1 Hr. Elliptical (Hal Higdon Plan)

ROCK ‘N’ ROLL TRAINING – WEEK 4
20 Goal Miles; 21 Actual Miles (Hal Higdon Plan)

ROCK ‘N’ ROLL TRAINING – WEEK 5
17.2 Goal Miles; 18.2 Actual Miles

Monday, 01.09.2012
Stretch & Strengthen Scheduled
Rest Day

Tuesday, 01.10.2012
4 Miles Scheduled
4.02 Miles / 36:50 / 9:09 Average Pace (0.5 M Warm-up, 0.5 M Cool-down Walk)

Wednesday, 01.11.2012
40 Minute Tempo Scheduled
4.00 Miles / 45:00 / Elliptical

Thursday, 01.12.2012
3 Mile + Strength Scheduled
Rest Day – Swapped w/Friday

Friday, 01.13.2012
Rest or Easy Run Scheduled
3.50 Miles / 44:00 / Elliptical

Saturday, 01.14.2012
Rest Day Scheduled

Sunday, 01.15.2012
10K Race Scheduled
9K Race / 5.67 Miles / 45:49 / 8:46 Average Pace

7 Weeks to Go!

A peek at this week’s training:

Leave a Reply

