January Reads

Hello – Today is my Friday – so I hope you all have a good weekend! 

I finished The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson on January 8th.  The first line: “It happened every year, was almost a ritual.”  To be honest, this was the third time I have picked up this book to read.  It was chosen for our book club, so I had to buckle down and actually finish it.  With encouragement that once I got past the first few chapters it got really good – I forced myself to get through the first ~100 pages of dry financial background.  The best part of the story is when the main characters were chasing down a killer – which only happens in the middle of the story, oddly enough.  But it was enough that I could hardly put the book down!  Murder, intrigue, sex, and violence – what more can you ask for in a mystery-thriller?  However, I must disclose that there are parts of the book which are quite…dark. If you cannot stomach a rape scene, then I suggest you do not read this.

I finished up The Space Between Us by Thrity Umrigar on January 12th.  The first line: “Although it is dawn, inside Bhima’s heart it is dusk.”  I loved this book.  The content wasn’t always a pleasure, but the reading was. The writing in this book flows like honey even though the message is often bitter.  The book is filled with so much sorrow, it is at times hard to swallow.  It looks at class and caste distinctions in India and how even if you love someone, your place in the social spectrum outweighs all… and it is to be understood.

I then demolished  Dead in the Family (Sookie Stackhouse #10) by Charlaine Harris in less than two days.  The first line: “ ‘I feel bad that I’m leaving you like this,’ Amelia said.”  Although this book had significantly less action than others in the series, it was still a quick read.  “Dead in the Family” is an appropriate title for this book which deals with all kinds of family problems.  Sookie is dealing with her cousin moving in.  Eric is paid a visit by his “father” who has brought along a new “brother” for Eric.  Sam is dealing with the fallout of his people finding out they have shifters in their family.  Bill is dealing with his family, both alive and dead.  And everyone is trying to help Sookie figure out who buried a body on her property.

I recently finished Skinny Dip by Carl Hiaasen.  The first line: “At the stroke of eleven on a cool April night, a woman named Joey Perrone went overboard from a luxury deck of the cruise liner M.V. Sun Duchess.”  A friend sent me this book, telling me it was a quick, fun, summer read.  I know it’s not summer…but I wanted a quick, fun read to round out this month.  Joey figured out that she had married a jerk when her husband threw her off a cruise ship. What Chaz Perrone didn’t figure on was that his beautiful wife was also a championship swimmer.  Joey manages to save herself from drowning – and is rescued by an ex-cop named Mick Stranahan.  With Mick’s assistance, Joey comes up with a plan for revenge on her husband.

CURRENTLY READING

Pretty Little Liars #4

TBR LIST

Here is a look at what’s sitting at the top of my To Be Read (TBR) list: 

 

RECENT RECOMMENDATIONS

The Violets of March by Sarah Jio

A heartbroken woman stumbled upon a diary and steps into the life of its anonymous author.

Night Road by Kristin Hannah

 For a mother, life comes down to a series of choices.
To hold on…
To let go..
To forget…
To forgive…
Which road will you take?

Seriously...I'm Kidding by Ellen Degeneres

 

I’ve experienced a lot the last few years and I have a lot to share. So I hope that you’ll take a moment to sit back, relax and enjoy the words I’ve put together for you in this book. I think you’ll find I’ve left no stone unturned, no door unopened, no window unbroken, no rug unvacuumed, no ivories untickled. What I’m saying is, let us begin, shall we?

Thanks for taking a peek onto my bookshelf!

4 thoughts on “January Reads

Leave a Reply

