January Rewind

Miles Run:
92.6 Miles
I am up to week 8 of 12 in my training for the 2012 Rock ‘n’ Roll New Orleans Half Marathon!  I have had some stellar PRs on my long distance runs.  I have also incorporated sprint workouts every other week…and I really think they are helping!

R&R NOLA Training Weeks 1-5
R&R NOLA Training Week 6
R&R NOLA Training Week 7

Races Run:
105th Annual Jackson Day Road Race 9K (RECAP)

Fitness Exercise:
Walking, Elliptical

Fun Facts:

  • WEDDINGS: My best friend got engaged!  She has set the date for 09.29.2012 and will get married at Elms Mansion in New Orleans, LA.  I love weddings!
  • GIRLY-GIRL: I added highlights to my hair.  There are subtle blonde and red streaks…but I like it.
  • ADVENTURE: We were invited to take a boat ride with some friends on Lake Pontchartrain.  We ended up traveling across the lake and ate lunch at Landry’s Seafood House in New Orleans.  I partook in some shared appetizers: Fried Green Tomatoes; Crab, Spinach, & Artichoke Dip; and BBQ Shrimp.  For lunch, I chose the Shrimp Fresca – Parmesan encrusted jumbo shrimp, broiled & topped with jumbo lump crabmeat, served with angel hair pasta.  YUM!
  • TEAMWORK: Our work team had a 2-day 2012 Strategy Planning Session, and we decided to end the festivities with a team dinner at Gallagher’s Grill in Covington.  I started with a Seafood Gumbo appetizer.  I also helped polish off the rest of a Calamari appetizer.  For dinner, I chose Crab-Stuffed Shrimp.  It was AH-MAZ-ING!  Gallagher’s has great food, excellent service, and a relaxed atmosphere. 
  • RELAX: We chose to relax Friday night at the Abita Brew Pub & Grill in Abita Springs.  They serve monster 10 oz. burgers that are DELISH!  And I got to wash it down with Abita Amber – my favorite!
  • FUN:Mardi Gras decorations are all going up in our neighborhood…and I have decided to participate this year! Pics to come soon!
     

Highlights!

 

3 thoughts on “January Rewind

Leave a Reply

