12-Miler in the Books!

My first 12-miler training run – COMPLETE!

As I have mentioned before, I am trying a different training plan for my second half marathon.  I am using Hal Higdon’s Intermediate Plan…and so far…I LOVE it!  One of the main differences from my first plan is that you continue the long distance runs up to the race weekend (instead of maxing at 11 miles and then tapering).  Therefore, I ran my first 12-miler training run on Sunday, while my 13.1 mile race is next Sunday!  Besides my Gulf Coast Half Marathon, this was the only time I have run this distance.

I woke up naturally around 7:15 am, lay around for about 10-15 minutes, got up, grabbed a Blueberry Bliss Luna Bar for breakfast, got dressed, then headed to the Lakefront.  The weather was a perfect 53* with overcast sky.  My plan was to make three 4-mile loops around the lakefront.  I started at the Mandeville Trailhead, went down and across the lakefront, then back up through old Mandeville.  My car was exactly 4 miles in – but once I neared the Trailhead, I decided to do add a 1 mile out and back on the Trace so that I would end back at my car at 6 miles.  Since I felt decent, I thought 1 break is better than 2!  I paused my RunKeeper, gulped down some Gatorade, chomped on some Sports Beans, grabbed my handheld water bottle, and was back to running in under 5 minutes.  My next 6 miles was an out and back along the Mandeville Trace.  My first mile is always fast (8:59)…and while miles 6 & 7 flew by (9:07, 9:08), the rest of miles ranged between 9:24 and 9:40.  Pretty consistent, if I do say so myself!

I was so excited that I was mentally prepared for such a long run and felt that I finished strong!  I had a goal in my head of 9:30-9:45 min/mile pace, and I finished with an average of 9:24 min/pace!  I ran for a total of 1 Hour 56 minutes!

You ask me a year ago if I thought I could have ever ran that long for “practice” and my answer would have been a resounding HELL NO.  Ha.  I surprise even myself sometimes!

2 thoughts on “12-Miler in the Books!

Leave a Reply

