Rock ‘n’ Roll NOLA Half Marathon Goals

Today marks my SECOND Half Marathon! I’ll be lining up with 22,000 other runners, my first large race! I have been looking forward to this since November, when I first took the plunge and registered. Revisit my post HERE. Crazy, no?!

Nonetheless, it’s hours away and I’m super excited (and a lil’ nervous). My mother has also made the trip down south to watch me run!

So without further adieu, my race goals:

GOAL A: 2 hours. This could be possible… The reason I throw this bone of a goal out there is that I ran a 8:50 min/mile average pace on my last long 9 mile run…and felt awesome!! Due to the cooler weather…and possible extra energy from having other runners around me…this is a goal…albiet a lofty one!

GOAL B: Sub 2 hours, 7 minutes. This is my most realistic goal. I have been training at a 9:30 min/mile pace for the last four months. If I do this right, I can finish in 2 hours, 4 minutes. If I shave even a small 15 seconds off my current pace, I can finish in 2 hours, 1 minute!

GOAL C: Finish. Oh yeah – and be thankful I’m able to run and enjoy the day.

So there you have it! Wish me luck!!

2 thoughts on “Rock ‘n’ Roll NOLA Half Marathon Goals

  1. Hope you had fun running the half! I am training for my second half marathon, but I am nowhere as fast as you. I’m just glad that I can say I can do a half marathon, lol! My goal for my next half is Sub 3, and I think it’s attainable based on my first half marathon time. At least I hope it is. 😀

Leave a Reply

