I’m Healthy!

Every six months my workplace holds a Health Screening.  You can sign-up online for an appointment – pick your 15 minute time slot – and viola.  Testing includes Lipid profile (Total Cholesterol, HDL, LDL, and Triglycerides), Blood Pressure, Glucose, Height & Weight, Waist Circumference, and Body Fat Percentage.

After signing the medical consent form, they prick your finger!  It is a tiny prick, because they only need about 4 drops of blood to run their analysis.  While you wait for the results, you are sent around each of the stations getting poked and prodded like cattle.  Just kidding – it is all very painless.  And then you are pulled aside with a nurse to review your results.

So – am I healthy?  You betcha!  See my numbers below:

Total Cholesterol: 153 (Desirable level < 200)
Triglycerides: <45 – They did not even register – the lower the better! (Desirable level < 150)
HDL Cholesterol: 58 (Desirable level > 40)
LDL Cholesterol: They did not even register because my triglycerides were below 45! (Desirable level < 130)
TC/HDL Ratio: 2.4 (Desirable level < 4.5)
Glucose: 91 (Desirable level < 100)

  • LDL (low density lipoprotein cholesterol, also called “bad” cholesterol) – can build up on the walls of your arteries and increase your chances of getting heart disease
  • HDL (high density lipoprotein cholesterol, also called “good” cholesterol) – protects against heart disease by taking the “bad” cholesterol out of your blood and keeping it from building up in your arteries
  • Triglycerides  (fats carried in the blood from the food we eat) – excess calories, alcohol, or sugar in the body are converted into triglycerides and stored in fat cells throughout the body

Blood Pressure: 124/78 (Desirable level <120/80)

Waist: 29 inches

Body Fat Percentage: 19.6%

Now – these last two measurement were a HUGE success!  What a difference my numbers are since my last health screening 6 months ago.  I measured a 34″ waist last August…compared to the 29″ today – equivalent to almost two full pant sizes!    I was at 29% Body Fat during my screening March 2011 and 27.3% August 2011 – compared to 19.6% today.  For my age group (25-29), my current % landed me in the “Very Good” category (19.1-22%), a far cry from the “Fair” category last year!

I guess this “healthy eating” and “exercising” is doing the job.  Oh yeah…and maybe my dedication and hard work to the training and running of two half marathons!!!

Have you measured your health lately?

2 thoughts on “I’m Healthy!

Leave a Reply

