April Reads

Hello fellow readers!

I did my first link-up with Julie at Peanut Butter Fingers for her April Book Club selection…and it was great to see so many new people stopping by to read my book review of The Book Thief!  Below are the books that I am continuing to devour from the Young Adult section.  And although I am starting to love this genre for quick, fun reads, I promised myself to try to read something different in May!  I welcome all suggestions.

My first read of the month was the 3rd book of the Iron Fey series, The Iron Queen by Julie Kagawa.  The first lines: “Eleven years ago, on my sixth birthday, my father disappeared.  On year ago, on the very same day, my brother was taken from me, as well.  But that time, I went into Faery to take him back.”  Still loving this series!!!  Summer Fades.  Ice Melts.  Here’s what’s left.  The Iron Fey.  (4/5 Stars)

I then demolished Matched (Matched #1) by Ally Condie by reading it in just 2 days!  The first line: “Now that I’ve found the way to fly, which direction should I go into the night?”  The basic story is of a society where officials decide every aspect of a person’s life – from the big decisions such as who they’ll marry (or be ‘matched’ with) and when they’ll die – to the small decisions, such as to what they’ll eat and how they dress.  This story is about a young girl, Cassia, who is matched to one boy, but falls for another boy, and so she begins to question the rules of the society, heading straight into a world of secrets and danger. (4/5 Stars)

Delirium by Lauren Oliver. The first line: “It has been sixty-four years since the president and the Consortium identified love as a disease, and forty-three since the scientists perfected a cure.”  Before scientists found the cure, people thought love was a good thing.  They didn’t understand that once love – the deliria – blooms in your blood, there is no escaping its hold.  Things are different now.  Scientists are able to eradicate love, and the government demands that all citizens receive the cure upon turning eighteen.  Lena Holoway has always looked forward to the day when she’ll be cured.  A life without love is a life without pain: safe, measured, predictable, and happy.  But with ninety-five days left until her treatment, Lena does the unthinkable – she falls in love.  (4/5 Stars)

CURRENTLY READING

Chasing down an uncertain future, Cassia makes her way to the Outer Provinces in pursuit of Ky–taken by the Society to his sure death–only to find that he has escaped into the majestic, but treacherous, canyons. On this wild frontier are glimmers of a different life and the enthralling promise of a rebellion. But even as Cassia sacrifices every thing to reunite with Ky, ingenious surprises from Xander may change the game once again.

Narrated from both Cassia’s and Ky’s point of view, this hotly anticipated sequel to Matched will take them both to the edge of Society, where nothing is as expected and crosses and double crosses make their path more twisted than ever.

TO BE READ LIST

Here is a look at what else is sitting on my To Be Read (TBR) list:

Leave a Reply

