Waterlogged

Sad news, my friends.  I feel like I’ve been in the dark ages…

So…Tuesday night I got caught in a torrential downpour during my run.  Not so bad for hot, humid weather, right?  WRONG.  I’m in Houston for training for the week…and just happened to be carrying my iPhone in my iFitness Belt.  I was about 1.5 miles into a solid 3-mile trail when it started getting cloudy.  Right before 2 miles…it started to DOWNPOUR.  I had nowhere to go.  I was at least a 1/2 mile away from any type of shelter and my phone was getting drenched.  I attempted to turn it off but it was already blaring HOT in my hands with a black screen.  I just wrapped my already soaking shirt around the fitness belt in hopes that it would protect my phone a lil’ bit.  I found a gazebo a lil’ after mile 2.5 and waited until the lightning was over before I trekked back the last 1/2 mile to my car. 

When I got back to my car, I tried to dry off my phone, but I could see that the damage was already done.  So I rushed back to the hotel to look up on the internet how to handle a wet iPhone.  It was suggested that I let it dry out for 24-48 hours before trying to turn it back on.  Hmm…makes sense.  And then I found that one of the most popular suggestions was to keep it in a bowl of dry rice to help draw out the moisture.  So off I went to a lil’ corner store and bought a bag of rice.  I wanted to give it a full 48 hours before I turned it on – but when I got home from class today – I could still see moisture on the camera screen.  Wah-Wah.  So I decided to keep it in the rice bowl for another day or two

Any similar stories?  Any other suggestions??

Leave a Reply

