P90X

That’s right folks…I’ve decided to join the P90X bandwagon.  I will be starting the program, with my hubby, today!  This past weekend we took our measurements, the fit test, and the “before” pictures.  I will wait until day 90 to see if my “after” pics look like the one below before I post for your entertainment!

So, to be honest, it is a bit of an investment.  Not only money, but also time, commitment, and motivation.  The actual P90X program costs ~$150 w/taxes and shipping.  They also recommend you have a chin-up bar, resistance bands, a workout mat, and dumbbells.  We already have the resistance bands, mat, and dumbbells, so we paid ~$20 for a standard doorway chin-up bar.  Not that I can actually do any chin-ups or pull-ups…but I have to be able to chart my progress!!!  But I think if you are willing to put in the time and money, the results will be HUGE!  We shall see…

What You Get When You Sign-Up

P90X Workout DVDs: 12 workout DVDs.  There are DVDs focused on certain body parts – Chest, Back, Shoulders, Arms, Legs, Core, Biceps, Triceps, Abs – and then there are DVDs focusing on overall fitness – Plyometrics, Yoga, Kenpo, Stretch, Cardio.  What I found the most intimidating…the shortest workout is the Ab Ripper (16 minutes), but it is always combined with another workout (~45 minutes long).  The “shortest” video is 54 minutes.  Talk about MAKING time and COMMITTING to yourself!!!

P90X Fitness Guide:  The P90X Fitness Guide outlines the entire program, showing you how to do each exercise with proper form, and teaching you how to customize P90X to reach your personal fitness goals.  There are 3 Fitness Levels to choose from: Classic, Doubles, and Lean.  The hubby and I are going to focus on the Classic.  There is a 3-week “muscle confusion” hard-core workout training plan, followed by 1 week of “recovery.”  This is repeated for a full 3 months (aka – 90 days!)

P90X 3-Phase Nutrition Plan:  The P90X program states that diet fuels your muscles and helps your body recover more quickly from the intense workouts.  From daily meal plans to detailed recipes, the Nutrition Plan teaches you what to eat for the right calories for maximum results.  The hubby and I decided that we were not going to be very strict about following this plan, but will instead use it as a guide to healthier choices.

“How To Bring It”: This video gives an overview of the complete P90X system.  The program also focuses on nutrition, supplementation and vitamins, and safety.

WHEW – so…I’m ready to Bring It!  I will prolly give weekly updates on our training.  Please email me if you have any questions specific to the program.

3 thoughts on “P90X

  1. I’m so excited for you and Nick! 🙂 I loved P90X!!! I did it several years ago for 3 years, and the infomercials don’t lie- you will indeed be in the best shape of your life. Don’t give up if it seems too hard at first… trust me, you’ll feel yourself getting stronger before you know it. 🙂

    Legs and Back was my absolute favorite workout!!! Can’t wait to read about your progress!

  2. We bought it too and need to jump on board. Thanks for sharing. We are using the meal
    Planning guide the same way. It is a time commitment with me so even if I do it every other day along with my running, I will be happy. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

