Fitness Bucket List

As many of you in the blogging world may have noticed, the FitFluential ambassadors were asked to put together something fun and fitness-related – so the concept of creating a Fitness Bucket List on Pinterest came up.  I’m not a FitFluential ambassador (YET), but I love this idea!!!  What better way to keep track of serious, fun, “one day,” years-in-the-making, or once-in-a-lifetime fitness goals?!

Below are a few of my favorite items currently on my Fitness Bucket List:

  • Run a sub 2-hour half marathon

I feel that I am soooo close this goal!  My first half was 2:07:29 (9:43/mile) .  My second half was 2:04:50 (9:31/mile).  In order to get sub-2 I will need to run 9-minute miles (1:59:59 = 9:09/mile).  I believe with proper training, disciplined long-distance runs, and a lil’ fun here and there, I can definitely achieve this goal!  I might even have signed-up for two half marathons in October (and planning on one more in December with my bestie) to give myself a chance at succeeding THIS year!

  • Run a sub 25-minute 5K

This magic number has been on my mind since my first adult 5K race in March 2011.  I used to run cross-country in high school, and easily finished in the 21-24 minute range each race.  Now, I average 27 minutes for a 5K.  I’ve done the math – and to cross the finish line of a 5K in 25 minutes or less, I will need to run each mile in 8 minutes, 3 seconds or less.  Significant milestone to date: June 13, 2012 I ran an 8:10 mile!

  • Complete 100 push-ups (on my toes!)

Hmm.  Excellent goal for someone who only has enough upper arm strength to complete ONE “real” push-up!  I did start on my knees – and up to 20 – but will soon progress to my toes 🙂

  • Go White Water Rafting!

*GASP* Can you believe a gal from West Virginia has never been White Water rafting?!  I would love to do this in my home state and also in Colorado.

  • Hike the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu

Machu Picchu is located in the Cuzco Region of Peru.  In 2007, Machu Picchu was voted one of the New Seven Wonders of the World in a worldwide Internet poll.  The 12 acres of terraces, gardens, staircases, temples, and aqueducts sprawl along a jungle ridge above the Rio Urubamba – a staggering 7,970 feet above sea level.  Your options for getting to the site are by Train, Bus, or Foot.  I personally daydream of hiking the Inca Trail from the Sacred Valley up to Machu Picchu – a fantastic 4 day, 27 mile trek!!!

  • Run a race in Washington, DC

I have always had a fascination with Washington, D.C.  And I thought, what better time to visit the nation’s capital than during Cherry Blossom season – talk about inspiring!!!  And in case I don’t make the 2013 lottery, there is also a Rock ‘n’ Roll Half.

So now the only question is…”What is one item on your Fitness Bucket List?”

4 thoughts on “Fitness Bucket List

  1. What great goals you have there! 🙂 I’d like to run my first 5K this winter – the Jingle Bell 5K Run for Arthritis. I like your idea on the push-ups! I’m with you there. 🙂

    And hiking Machu Picchu sounds pretty amazing!

Leave a Reply

