P90X Update – Week 1

Hello everyone!  This is the first blog post in my series of weekly P90X updates.  What I will try to provide you with is an honest review of how I progress through each week, holding nothing back – except perhaps my sanity?!  The hubby and I just finished Day 07/90.  Below are my thoughts…

I consider myself to be in good shape.  I worked out with a trainer for a couple of months.  I run half marathons.  And I work out multiple times a week combining circuits and running.  I figured P90X would be intense, but good to help me kick it up a notch.  But let me tell you…it’s more than just intense…it’s HARDCORE.  If you want to kick things up a notch, pop in Jillian Michaels.  I’m thinking P90X is Jillian x2. Or maybe x3.

For those of you who are not familiar with P90X, let me bring you up to speed.  The program is divided into 2 phases during each of the three months – three weeks of weights and cardio, then one recovery week.   It is structured around muscle confusion, meaning that each day targets different sets of muscles.  And on top of that, each month is different – you don’t just rotate the same DVDs in a continuous loop for 90 days.  As someone who tends to get bored with monotony…I am happy with the variety!

Day One: Chest and Back + Ab Ripper X

This workout is centered around pull-ups, chin-ups, and push-ups.  MANY, many “ups” at that.  Which was just swell because I cannot even do ONE “real” push-up or even HALF a “real” pull-up.  Lucky me – we’re told we can use resistance bands, or a chair, until we’re able to do them on our own.  There are 3 rounds of 4 different exercises, repeated twice.  The hubby was quite amazed at just how many pull-ups and chin-ups these people can do.  I mean, they are quick…like the lil’ moles popping out of the ground in the game “whack a mole.”

It was about 15 minutes into this workout that I realized what I had gotten myself into…and I still had 35 minutes to go.  My first thought was, “I hope everyday isn’t like this…”  How I survived, I’m still not sure…I think it was the adrenaline of starting something new.  Oh, and after I made it though the hour-long workout?  I got to do 16 FULL minutes of some of the most intense ab exercises I’ve ever come across.  I will say it again, HARDCORE.

Day 2: Plyometrics

This is a cardio DVD – and reminded me of Jillian. x3.  There are over 30 jumping moves, and after putting my legs through the third round of hell, I was looking forward to a minute of two of NOT MOVING.  HA! In P90X there are no breaks.  Oh wait.  I guess there are 1-2 minute “water breaks” – but you asked to “keep moving” during them.  But other than one day of rest a week, you should know that you are going to work hard every.single.day. This workout is a prime example of that.

After the hubby and I made it 30 minutes into it, we both looked at each other and cursed– we STILL have 30 minutes of this sh*t to do!  To be honest, I think I cursed every 5 minutes after that.  Didn’t I read in my last book that cursing helps you get through the pain?! LOL.  Yeah, I’ll go with that excuse.  Did I mention…I highly recommend doing this program with a partner.  You’ll threaten the other person’s life if they even CONSIDER not working out with you.  Which, I suppose in the end, keeps each of you motivated. 

On a side note, I felt that working with a trainer, and doing some one-off Jillian workouts really helped me not be too sore with this particular workout.  My hubby on the other hand, could barely get out of bed the next day!  His quads were on fire, along with his hamstrings, calves, and every other part of his body.  Just a lil’ something to keep in mind if your partner has never attempted moves like these before.

Day 3: Shoulders and Arms + Ab Ripper X

I actually enjoyed this workout.  As in…I liked it.  I felt the strongest I’ve ever felt.  I know, I know…my muscles aren’t ALREADY getting stronger, but I’m talking about feeling so accomplished, so proud.  I barreled through this workout hefting 8lb weights and grunt-smiling through most rounds.  A few months ago, my body was repulsed at the sight of even 5lb weights!

And then, after a full hour of weights, I had to put in the Ab Ripper.  Thank goodness the Ab Ripper is only 3 times a week.  I can’t even count the number of times I paused this workout – with the excuse to the hubby that I needed to “record our numbers” – when in reality, I was desperately panting for each breath!

Day 4: Yoga

This workout was 92 minutes!  And for me, it was 92 minutes of hell.  I’ve never taken “real” Yoga – but I think the poses are traditional yoga poses.  But they were hard.  I actually felt like I was “working out” the entire first half – continuously moving from one pose to another – some pretty intense moves that really pushed my body’s limits.   I was not only sweating, but struggling to do some of the moves.  I was VERY pleased that the second half was full of static stretches.  Also — I’m not nearly as flexible as I thought I was.  And to be honest, my body felt like it had been trampled on the next day.  I’m a lil’ worried about the “recovery” week where yoga is featured twice in one week…but for now, I’ll just breathe in, and breathe out.  And let everything else fade away…

The hubby is not a fan of trying yoga (at least not yet…), so he decided to use this day as a cross-training day. 

Day 5: Legs and Back + Ab Ripper

I loved this workout. LOVED. Yes, it was hard, but it made me feel like a badass, and there are few things better than that.  I felt strong mentally and physically!

And then you may have noticed I got to do that lovely Ab Ripper again!  I am such a lucky lady.  I just keep telling myself that one day I will complete ALL 300+ ab moves without pausing…one day.

Day 6: Kenpo

I have some seriously twisted thoughts about this workout.  On the one hand, this workout was *fun* and went by very quickly; on the other hand, I was getting VERY frustrated with all the combo moves.  I thought kenpo was some sort of kicking/boxing mix, but I had no idea what it actually involved.  As it turns out, it’s exactly that – a bunch of different kicks, blocks, and punches.  I really wish Tony would have taken a few seconds before each set to explain the sequence.  I mean…I’ve watched boxing and all…but I’m not very coordinated.  In fact, my mom loves to call me GRACE.  Well, my hubby, the angel that he is, picked up on my frustration and decided to pause before each section to give me a personal 20 second training session.  So…I suppose in time I will get more fluid as I get more comfortable with the moves.  Then (dare I say it?!), I can really enjoy this workout.

Day 7: REST

My body is THANKING me!  The last few workouts really left my arm/shoulder/hamstring muscles feelings tight (a good tight) – but left my butt muscles crying out in pain.  There is a Stretch DVD, but I really relished just playing with my cat and reading on the porch!

Last night started Week 2 – this should be an interesting day.  But as Tony says…BRING IT! 

6 thoughts on “P90X Update – Week 1

  1. This is a great entry! Thanks for posting. I was considering starting P90X in August but after reading this… I think I need to stick with Jillian for another year or two. I still can’t even handle her!

    • Hi Candice! I think if you complete one of Jillian’s programs…and then take P90X slow and controlled, you will be just fine! The hardest part for me is to PACE myself!!! Tony tells you over and over that there are many rounds, and you need to make sure you give the same effort for each round!

      • That’s a good tip! I think I’ll finally give 30 day Shred my all (as well as my running training that I’m doing) and then come back to Tony in a few months. Hey, it’s worth a shot, right? If I don’t do it, then I will absolutely fail at it, but if I try it, I have a chance of making it!

  2. Yay! I loved your review of your first week!

    -Did you know that Ab Ripper is at the end of those strength DVD’s? As in, you don’t have to put the actually Ab Ripper DVD in? I realized that in month 3. 🙂 Just thought I’d pass on a little tid bit of info in case you were unaware.

    -Legs and Back was my favorite also! It definitely is badass!!! I couldn’t sit down the next day it hurt so good. 😉

    -Oh, and as a fellow runner, P90X helped me BIG TIME improve my running. 🙂

    I’m so glad you and Nick are enjoying it! xoxo

    • HA! Definitely did NOT know that Ab Ribber is at the end of the DVDs 🙂 Thanks for sharing!! I agree…a lot of the workouts are a “hurt so good” – I just still can’t believe how intense they are! I’ll be picking up my running regime again next week. I wanted to make sure I gave my body some time to work out any lingering pain 🙂

  3. Great intro week…hopefully you keep up with the process. I just started myself, just finished my second week and already down 7 lbs. I’m hoping to make through the 90 days of pain…as I put it.

Leave a Reply

