30 Before 30

In case you were wondering…this is the last year of my twenties.  In fact, yesterday marked just 6 months left until I turn the big 3-0…

I firmly believe in the saying that life is mostly what we make of it.  For me, that means pursuing big dreams and emphasizing small pleasures along the way.  I am a huge dreamer…but often fall short of following through on my plans.  So I’m thinking…if there are things I genuinely want to pursue, why not start finding a way to make them happen?  And as a list-lover…where else to begin but my simply making a list of what I want to accomplish.

I’ve decided to take this milestone of entering a new decade to make a list of 30 things to do before I’m 30.  It’s a list of trips I’ve been meaning to take, challenges I’ve been dreaming of taking on, skills I’ve been planning to learn, and personal breakthroughs I’ve been hoping to have.  And I’ll attempt to check them off over the next 6 months (in no particular order).  Some are grand ideas…a few are a continuation of things I’m already enjoying…others are silly and frivolous…but all are happiness-inducing all the same!  I hope you’ll all enjoy reading my story, and in the process, be inspired to make and demolish your own list.  Speaking of…

“What grand plans do you dream of yourself?”

My 30 Before 30

  1. Try acupuncture
  2. Commit to yoga for 1 month
  3. Take one “spur-of-the-moment” trip
  4. Overcome my fear to donate blood
  5. Find a plant that I can’t kill
  6. Skydive or Hot-air Balloon Ride
  7. Read/Re-read 10 classics
  8. Become proficient at “Thank You” notes
  9. Take a cooking class
  10. Revisit DC and see all the monuments/sites I was too young to appreciate
  11. Surprise a stranger by doing something kind
  12. Mail 1 letter a month to friends
  13. Start REAL plans for a trip to Ireland/Italy/Greece/UK
  14. Plan a college friends get-together
  15. Learn to do a loud, 2-finger whistle
  16. Get my fortune told by a fortune-teller…
  17. Complete a fitness program from start to finish!
  18. Learn how to cook a meal that I would be willing to serve at a dinner party
  19. Ride on a train
  20. Write my will
  21. Submit something to be published…
  22. Find the perfect wine/liquor cabinet
  23. Attend a late-night comedy show
  24. Visit The Wizarding World of Harry Potter in Orlando
  25. Run a half marathon in another state
  26. Invest some money (outside of my 401k)
  27. Finish my “Travel” Scrapbooks
  28. Stay the night in a Haunted House (How about “The Myrtles Plantation” – One of America’s Most Haunted Homes!)
  29. TBD – Open for my last year in my 20’s
  30. TBD – Open for my first year in my 30’s

If you like this idea…feel free to get some additional inspiration and ideas here:  The 30 Before 30 Project.

One thought on “30 Before 30

  1. I love this 30 Before 30!! 🙂 And what a great list you have there.

    One thing that would be on my list, that I’ve only just begun with, would be getting better at photography and learning all the ins and outs of my camera. I just started taking a photography class and am so overwhelmed (but in a good way).

    Another would be to travel somewhere to volunteer for those in need. 🙂

Leave a Reply

