August Reads

Hello fellow readers!

My first read of the month was The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick.  The first few pages are actually pictures.  Stunning drawings.  The first line: “From his perch behind the clock, Hugo could see everything.”  To be honest, this book was unlike anything I have ever read before.  This story would have been enough with just words.  However, the presence of Selznick’s magical series of drawings make it seem like you’re watching a movie as you’re flipping the pages.  This novel shines light on all the adventures we craved as children, and in most cases, still dream of now.  You deserve to experience this book for yourself.  (5/5 Stars)

I was so enamoured by the first book, that I then picked up Wonderstruck by Brian Selznick.  Playing with the form he created in his trailblazing debut novel, The Invention of Hugo Cabret, Brian Selznick once again sails into uncharted territory and takes readers on an awe-inspiring journey. Two independent stories, set fifty years apart, – Ben’s told in words, Rose’s in pictures -weave back and forth with mesmerizing symmetry.  (4/5 Stars)

I finished up the month with The Peach Keeper by Sarah Addison Allen.  The first lines: “The day Paxton Osgood took the box of heavy-stock foil-lined envelopes to the post office, the ones she’s had a professional calligrapher address, it began to rain so hard the air turned as white as bleached cotton.  By nightfall, rivers had crested at flood stage and, for the first time since 1936, the mail couldn’t be delivered.”  I really enjoyed this book…it was delightful and magical.  As the back cover suggests… The Peach Keeper is a portrait of the unshakable bonds (of friendship, love, and tradition) that – in good times and bad, from one generation to the next – endure forever.  (4/5 Stars)

Following on the heels of the “Have You Seen My…Motivation” post HERE, I attempted – and failed – to read two additional books in August.  To put this in perspective, I’ve only quit reading a total of 4 books that I can remember.  My philosophy to date has been to always finish the book – no matter how long it takes me.  But lately I’ve come to realize that if I’m not into it by the first few chapters…I’m just not into it!  No need to force myself to read…I’d much rather pick up something that makes time fly by!!!  Did-Not-Finish: Nights at the Circus by Angela Carter and The Angel’s Game by Carlos Ruiz Zafon.  I LOVED The Shadow of the Wind by Zafon, so I was excited to read this author again…but ended up just not feeling it.

Unfortunately, I did not have a chance to do the monthly link-up with Julie at Peanut Butter Fingers for her August Book Club selection…but Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn is the September Book Club selection for my local book club – so I will still get a chance to read it.

CURRENTLY READING

“Inside the abbey of a Benedictine monastery on tiny Egret Island, just off the coast of South Carolina, resides a beautiful and mysterious chair ornately carved with mermaids and dedicated to a saint who, legend claims, was a mermaid before her conversion.

Jessie Sullivan’s conventional life has been molded to the smallest space possible.  So when she is called home to cope with her mother’s startling and enigmatic act of violence, Jessie finds herself relieved to be apart from her husband, Hugh.  Jessie loves Hugh, but on Egret Island – amid the gorgeous marshlands and tidal creeks – she becomes drawn to Brother Thomas, a monk who is mere months from taking his final vows. What transpires will unlock the roots of her mother’s tormented past, but most of all, as Jessie grapples with the tension of desire and the struggle to deny it, she will find a freedom that feels overwhelmingly right.”

TO BE READ LIST

Here is a look at what has recently been added to my To Be Read (TBR) list:

2 thoughts on “August Reads

  1. Love book recommendations! 🙂 I just read “State of Wonder” and it was absolutely amazing and one I want to reread over and over again.

Leave a Reply

