Jazz Half Marathon Goals

Saturday marks my third Half Marathon!  Last year’s post HERE details the nervous/excited energy I felt just days before my first 13.1!  This will be my first time running this race – the Fourth Annual Jazz Half Marathon – which supports the Cancer Program at the Children’s Hospital.  The race will start and finish at Lafayette Square Park in the New Orleans Central Business District (CBD).  We will run past landmarks such as the New Orleans Convention Center, Louisiana Superdome, and the statue of Robert E. Lee at Lee Circle.  From Lee Circle, we will run up the Grand Dame of New Orleans streets, St. Charles Avenue, passing the fabled mansions of the Garden District, Loyola and Tulane Universities, and through Audubon Park.  Coming back downtown, we’ll run past the World War II Museum, Contemporary Arts Museum, and Ogden Museum of Southern Art before finishing back at Lafayette Square.

Also new…I will be running the race with my best friend from high school…who just happened to be the co-captain of our cross-country team…and who just happens to be living in New Orleans!  This will be her FIRST half marathon experience!!  Oh so excited!

So without further adieu, my race goals:

GOAL A:  Sub 2 hours.  This could be possible…!  The reason I throw this bone of a goal out there is that I ran a 9:16/mile average pace on my last 11 mile run.  Due to the cooler weather…and possible extra energy from having other runners around me…this is a goal…albiet a lofty one!

GOAL B:  Sub 2 hours, 5 minutes.  This is my most realistic goal.  I have been training at 9:35-10:15/mile pace for long runs for the last four months.  If I do this right, with an average pace of 9:30/mile, I can finish in 2 hours, 4 minutes.  If I shave even a small 15 seconds off that pace, I can finish in 2 hours, 1 minute!

GOAL C:  Finish. Oh yeah – and be thankful I’m able to run and enjoy the day.  I know this is always a good goal – but seeing how I haven’t been diligent with my training to date – it’s especially good here!

So there you have it!  Wish me luck!!

2 thoughts on “Jazz Half Marathon Goals

Leave a Reply

