October Reads

Hello fellow readers!  Another super busy month!  I only got in two books – but they were both pretty good reads!

My first read of the month was Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn.  I originally found this book through Julie and Peanut Butter Fingers (for her August book club read), but could connect in time due to my busy schedule.  So when it was chosen for our girls book club – I was ecstatic to get started!  The first line: “NICK DUNNE – THE DAY OF.  When I think of my wife, I always think of her head.  The shape of it, to begin with.  The very first time I saw her, it was the back of her head I saw, and there was something lovely about it, the angles of it.”  Gone Girl begins on the day Amy Dunne goes missing, which just happens to be the date of her five-year anniversary to her husband, Nick.  As Amy’s disappearance surfaces, Nick’s reactions are odd and confusing, yet he maintains his innocence.  The book follows Nick and Amy (through past entries in her diary), as police seek to find an answer to the missing person mystery.  I received many messages from my friends throughout their readings – “I hate Nick!” and “I don’t like this book at all!” – but I, on the other hand, loved the book!!!  I was immediately captivated…and completely blindsided by the turning point in the middle of the book.  By that point in the story, I knew I just had to find out just how twisted the ending would be.  As for that ending, I was a lil’ bit shocked, and then upset, and then…why not?!  And after talking about this book with the rest of the girls who read it this month – their opinions were just like mine…all across the board.  I highly recommend that you check it out for yourself and let me know what you think!  (4/5 Stars)

I also did the monthly link-up with Julie at Peanut Butter Fingers for her October Book Club selection…and it was great to see so many new people stopping by to read my review of Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher – review posted HERE!  (4/5 Stars)

CURRENTLY READING

Waris Dirie ran away from her oppressive life in the African desert when she was barely in her teens, illiterate and impoverished, with nothing to her name but a tattered shawl.  She traveled alone across the dangerous Somali desert to Mogadishu – the first leg of a remarkable journey that would take her to London, where she worked as a house servant; then to nearly every corner of the globe as an internationally renowned fashion model; and ultimately to New York City, where she became a human rights ambassador for the U.N.  “Desert Flower” is her extraordinary story.

TO BE READ LIST

Here is a look at what has recently been added to my To Be Read (TBR) list:

One thought on “October Reads

Leave a Reply

