My Last Race of 2012: Ryan Jobes Memorial 5K

Saturday, December 22nd was a bittersweet day…it was my last race of 2012.  I chose to participate in the Ryan Jobes Memorial 5K – a race held in Williamstown, WV, a mere 15 minutes from my hometown.  I wanted to run a bit in the COLD weather while I was at home, and was pretty excited to find that this race fit my schedule perfectly.  Do you see that…”Feels like 20*F” – BRRR!
IMG_1586
This race is definitely a feel-good hometown race.  Most of the people who walked/ran were members of the community, or athletes who participated in sports with Ryan.  There were so many volunteers out there braving the cold weather…literally a volunteer at EVERY turn in the road!  The event is held in memory of Ryan Jobes (April 12, 1986 – December 20, 2005), a standout athlete and citizen at Williamstown High School.   The registration was a “donation of your choice” and all proceeds benefit WIN, Williamstown Improvement Network.  It had been ages since I’ve run the country roads, but this race was ran through the beautiful town of Williamstown and finished on the High School Track.  The weather was cold…and the roads were ICY…but our hearts were warm from the speech delivered at the start line.  “Seven years ago today, Ryan died.  Today his life continues because of you runners!  And remember…it’s ICY out there today…so it’s not a PR day.  We just want you to have fun.  All of the runners, walkers, volunteers, and members of this community are keeping alive the memory of a very special young man.  This is a joyous day.  Enjoy your run!”
My goal was to finish in 25 minutes.  My RunKeeper app told me 25:45!  And I had some AWESOME negative splits…AND a sub-8-minute mile 3!  Bring on the COLD and ICE!!!
RyanJobes5KMap
RyanJobes5KSplits
Here are some pictures from the race!
IMG_1585
Bundled-up Pre-Race!

Bundled-up Pre-Race!

Still smiling Post-Race!

Still smiling Post-Race!

After the race we were all invited to sit in the school cafeteria and chow down on some pancakes and bagels and fruit!  Shortly after, the awards started.  And what do you know?!  But my name was called for 1st in my age group!!! And I was called out for being the “farthest traveler yet” to support this race!  I chuckled and stated that I am formerly of Parkersburg, WV…but will gladly take the title of long-distance supporter!!  <Insert huge hometown grin here!!!>

Adios 2012!

Leave a Reply

