Changes.

Long time no talk, huh?  If I still have any followers out there, thank you for your patience!

I have to admit, I have desperately missed blogging.  I definitely needed the break, but I just miss that dialogue – that solo time phrasing and rephrasing my thoughts to share with you all.  There is a lot going on in my life right now, and I felt that I needed to take a step back and just focus on life outside the blog.  That being said, I am now ready to make an effort to get back into blogging.  I do not plan to write every day (or every other day), but I am going to try to pop in at least once a week.  For now.  Hopefully I can work my way back into daily musings!

Speaking of…the last time I snuck in a blog post was February 15 – On the Run: Houston Part II (see 3rd line below…)  Since then, a lot has happened!

My 2-YEAR Blogiversary!!!  Which is sort of funny, because at the time, I used me “consistently” blogging as an excuse to register my own domain (daydreamsandshoestrings.com)!  Then I went and hid!

blogiversary

I turned the big 3-0.  Oh yes.  And so did the hubby…a mere 5 days after me.  He affectionately calls me a  *cough*  Cougar.  Haha.  This year we decided to host our very first Crawfish Boil and invited a few close friends to celebrate with us!

30

I am working – a LOT.  Also, traveling a lot – at least one week a month.  Houston has become my home away from home.  On the plus side – I’m racking up my frequent flier miles and hotel bonus points!!!

Houston

I took my first Bar Method class!  Ah-maz-ing!  I will soon write a whole blog post on my experience, but this class is a perfect complement for a runner – complete with strength training and stretching!

Bar1

I was a FEATURED RUNNER on fellow blogger/tweeter/runner Megan’s site – Running Toward the Prize!!!  Go check me out!

I did my first big destination race – the Cherry Blossom 10 Mile Run in Washington, D.C.  Ever since I did an internship there my senior year of college, I have desperately been looking for an excuse to return!  And what better way to merge my love for the city with my love for running?!  Another full blog post coming soon!

CherryBlossomLogo

I followed the Boston Marathon bombings and every.single.program following until the capture of suspect #2.  And then I watched some more.  I was incredibly saddened.  But I was also incredibly enlightened by the small acts of kindness and compassion that strangers showed one other.

boston

My grandpa passed away.

Gramps

I went to my first “Zoo-To-Do” – New Orleans’ premiere fundraising event for Audubon Zoo.  I got to wear a fancy dress and got the hubby into a suit.  Please ignore the awesome neon yellow wristband…our work gave us VIP tickets!  I even got to meet Peyton Manning…even though he wouldn’t take pictures with all of us!

IMG_0368

And finally, I have been keeping up with running and working out.  Another post coming soon…about me chasing down that sub-2 hour half marathon!

Sub2

xoxoJen

2 thoughts on “Changes.

  1. HAHAHA SO funny that your husband calls you a cougar–i’m 11 days older than mine and he does the same thing! Crazy boys! Glad things have been going well for you! I’ve been on blog-hiatus too, just not sure what to write these days!

Leave a Reply

