It’s Official…

The hubby has agreed to sign-up for his first half marathon race – the St. Jude Memphis Half Marathon!!!

StJude2

I am SUPER excited about this on so many levels.  1) My hubby is a HUGE motivator for anything associated with working out.  If I even think about giving him an excuse not to run on a day that is on our schedule…he will mentally zap the thought before the words come out of my mouth.  2) I will have a running buddy!  Although I am mainly a solo runner, I fondly remember the days of high school and college where the pack mentality was so strong that every mile ran together forged a stronger relationship.  And…it’s really hard to flake out on a run when you have someone depending on you!!!  Oh the love/hate relationship with a running buddy!  3) St. Jude’s is one of my favorite organizations! Who doesn’t love standing behind a mission statement of this magnitude:  “To find cures for children with cancer and other life-threatening diseases through research and treatment.  And no family ever pays St. Jude for anything.”  4) I get to personally support those I love.  I recently found out that two of my college sorority sisters are up to bat with one of life’s toughest curve balls – helping their children fight cancer.  My fundraising page will be dedicated to them!  5) Cancer sucks.  Whether it affects children, teens, adults, or mature adults, cancer rips apart the fabric of our lives.  Enough said.  6) Helloooooo Tennessee!  I get to add another state to my 25 Challenge: Half to Run!

I hope my hubby realizes that I am now going to entertain my readers by posting updates on his running experiences…the good, the bad, and the ugly.  Yep, I’m such a great wife!  This is going to be so much fun…

The race is on! 

xoxoJen

One thought on “It’s Official…

Leave a Reply

