Good Reads – June 2013

ReadingBench

I kicked off June by reading Seriously….I’m Kidding by Ellen DeGeneres.  The first lines, “Over the last year or so since I decided to write this book, people have been asking me how I have the time and why I chose to write it.  The truth is, last June I was driving through a tunnel while I was on the phone with my agent and my cell service was spotty.  I said, ‘I just got a great IKEA table for my breakfast nook.’ My agent thought I said, ‘I’ve got a great idea for my newest book.'”  Summary from Goodreads: “Sometimes the greatest things are the most embarrassing.” Ellen Degeneres’ winning, upbeat candor has made her show one of the most popular, resilient and honored daytime shows on the air. (To date, it has won no fewer than 31 Emmys.) Seriously… I’m Kidding, Degeneres’ first book in eight years, brings us up to date about the life of a kindhearted woman who bowed out of American Idol because she didn’t want to be mean. Lively; hilarious; often sweetly poignant.” (4/5 Stars)

My next read was more of a skim-through when needing a smile kind of book – The Book of Awesome by Neil Pasricha.  This book reminds us that sometimes we just need to celebrate life’s little moments.  Some of my favorites include: the other side of the pillow, the smell of rain on a hot sidewalk, that friendly nod between strangers out doing the same thing, and the smell and sound of a campfire.  You don’t have to agree with all of the entries – “using all the different shampoos and soaps in someone else’s shower” didn’t resonate with me – but just keep turning pages, and it won’t be too long before you find several more Awesome Things that you can relate to.   And you will probably find yourself smiling and nodding.  Summary from Goodreads: “The author behind 1000awesomethings.com celebrates the good things in life – by the sheer power of their awesomeness.  Based on the award-winning blog 1000awesomethings.com, “The Book of Awesome” is a high-five for humanity and a big celebration of life’s little moments and the underappreciated, simple things that make us happy, from popping bubble wrap to hitting a bunch of green lights in a row, to waking up thinking it’s Monday and realizing it’s Saturday.  With wise, witty observations from writer Neil Pasricha, this treasure trove is filled with smile-inducing musings that make readers feel like kids looking at the world for the first time: AWESOME!” (3/5 Stars)

Deadlocked (Sookie Stackhouse #12) by Charlaine Harris.  The first lines, “It was hot as the six shades of Hell even this late in the evening, and I’d had a busy day at work.  The last thing I wanted to do was sit in a crowded bar to watch my cousin get naked.  But it was Ladies Only night at Hooligans, we’d planned this excursion for days, and the bar was full of hooting and hollering women determined to have a good time.”  Summary from Goodreads: “Sookie has a murder investigation on her hands. A young girl has died at a vampire party – and it looks as though her lover, Eric, might be responsible. Eric swears he didn’t do it, the police don’t believe him, and even Sookie isn’t so sure. Nor is she inclined to take his word for it, not having caught him enjoying the victim’s blood minutes before she was killed.  But something strange is going on. Why had Sookie been asked to come to the fateful party a few minutes early – just to catch Eric in the act? And why had the victim spiked her own blood before approaching Eric? Was it simply because she wanted to be irresistible, or was it something more sinister?  Sookie will have to find out … but it’s the worst moment to investigate, as her Fae family are having troubles of their own and Sookie is, inevitably, drawn in. And there is one last complication. The cluviel dor her grandmother left her. It will grant her one wish, which could fulfil Sookie’s heart’s desire. The only problem is, she still doesn’t know what – or who – her heart truly desires …” (4/5 Stars)

BooksJun2013

What has been your favorite read of 2013 so far?  Any recommendations for me? xoxoJen

Leave a Reply

