St. Jude Journey – First Steps!

Remember my POST way back in May announcing that the hubby and I were going to run in the St. Jude Memphis Half Marathon?  Well, finally we took the first few steps – paid our registration fees, joined a team, and set-up our donation pages – and are now ready to kick things up a notch and raise some money!!!

The 2013 St. Jude Memphis Half Marathon is held on Saturday, December 7th in Memphis, TN.  (And yes…this counts towards my 25 CHALLENGE!)  The race runs through downtown Memphis and should prove to be an exciting course – running along Beale Street, Sun Studio, and the St. Jude campus before finishing in AutoZone Park.

StJudeHalf

The elevation map is a lil’ bit intimidating, as the course has a general incline Miles 2-10….but I am positive that we will stay strong as the race is for such an amazing cause!  Besides…living with Cancer is a LOT harder than battling 8 uphill miles!!!  On the flip side, Miles 10-13 are downhill!!! (For those doing the full marathon, they also have a general uphill battle, then all downhill for Miles 19-26 – whew!)

StJudeElevation

Also to note…the weather in Memphis should also be PERFECT running weather: Average high: 56°F – Average low: 38°F  – Mean: 46°F!

And now for the exciting part…I am a St. Jude Hero, meaning that I am FUNDRAISING in conjunction with TRAINING.  It is a little bit overwhelming, I admit, but I am incredibly excited to make a difference for something so much bigger than me!  I, of course,  will be blogging about my experience as often as I can during the next three months, but am also very open to suggestions, comments, or questions regarding fundraising for endurance events!

I have already received my fundraising packet in the mail, and set-up MY FUNDRAISING PAGE.  I have since been brainstorming about how I plan to meet and surpass my fundraising goal of $500 (my secret goal is $1000!).  The suggested first step is to write down every single person that you know to identify potential donors.  Have you ever actually tried doing that….it really is crazy to think about just how many people are in your life!

I also LOVE the idea (borrowed from fellow blogger and friend KRISSY!) of using my blog to reach out and capture donations from all 50 states – and advertise on a ‘States of Donation’ Map!  Post coming soon to highlight the fun world of social media!

I will also be tracking my entire experience on the tab above – St. Jude Journey!  There you can find a recap of all my blog posts, my ‘States of Donation’ Map, and our Race Results come December!

Thanks for your support!!  And should you feel generous enough to donate, don’t forget to check your company policy on MATCHING donations 🙂

Do you have any successful fundraising methods to share?

xoxoJen

Leave a Reply

