St. Jude Journey – Donations!

That’s right folks…post #2 in the St. Jude Journey series!  As a St. Jude Hero, I am FUNDRAISING in conjunction with TRAINING for this amazing cause/run.  Week One Fundraising Update!  As crazy as it sounds…within one week of releasing our fundraising pages and sending out emails, I reached 80% of my $500 goal, and the hubby DOUBLED his $500 goal!  YOWZA!

Jen's Fundraising - Week 1

Jen’s Fundraising – Week 1

NIck's Fundraising - Week 1

NIck’s Fundraising – Week 1

I wanted to send a HUGE shout-out to our co-workers (who were the first to get our email)!!!  We have received amazing support for our journey…and I am still overwhelmed by the positive comments and generous donations!  You have all been wonderfully supportive and have both donated and shared your stories with me.  I would love for any of you who have a specific story you’d like to share here to e-mail me and I will make sure the story is included here on the blog!

For those of you who may think it awkward to reach out to co-workers, I think you will be surprised at how easy it is!  I sent a blanket email (blind carbon copy) to all those I interact with on a daily basis, some who I haven’t worked with in a while, and some who I just recently met.  Below is an outline of what I wrote:

Hello!  As some of you may know, Nick and I will be participating in the St. Jude Memphis Marathon Weekend in which we will be running the half-marathon (13.1 miles) on Saturday, December 7th.  As part of this participation, we are raising funds to help improve the quality of life for the kids of St. Jude.  I am reaching out to family, friends, neighbors, Muskingum network, CSUB network, and colleagues in hopes that some of you may be able to donate to this amazing cause!  My goal is to reach $500 (but secretly hope to reach the next level of fundraising – $1000 ) – ALL of which helps both the kids and their families.  Attached below is a link to my personal “St. Jude Heroes” page in which you can elect to donate to this cause.  Also, if your company matches funds, please be sure to submit that matching fund request. Thank you, in advance, for your time and support!

Should you prefer to mail a check, checks should be made payable to: St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital.  Please contact me directly for my address.

My next plan of attack is to release a ‘States of Donation’ post to help me gain some social media momentum – and beat the hubby!

Please visit MY FUNDRAISING PAGE to help me…and thanks for your support!

Do you have a story you would like to share?  Are you battling Cancer?  Are you a Survivor of Cancer?  Are you a family member of a Cancer patient?  I would love to share your heart breaks and triumphs…and spread awareness!

xoxoJen

Leave a Reply

