Good Reads – September 2013

ReadingBench

I started off the month finishing up Ruthless (Pretty Little Liars #10) by Sara Shepard.  I just can’t help it….I’ve been sucked into this series!  The first lines: “Have you ever gotten away with something really, really bad?  Like when you hooked up with that cute guy you work with at the bagel shop…and never told your boyfriend.  Or when you stole that patterned scarf from your favorite boutique…and the security alarms didn’t go off.”  Summary from Goodreads:  Everyone’s favorite pretty little liars are back with a fresh story arc filled with dark new secrets and deadly plot twists.  Hanna, Spencer, Emily, and Aria are trying to move on and forget about their old friend Alison DiLaurentis and all the torture she put them through. They thought she was gone from their lives for good, but someone is keeping her spirit alive. Now A wants to ruin their pretty little lives—or does A want to end them?  (4/5 Stars)
 
My second book of the month was yet another in the series – Stunning (Pretty Little Liars #11) by Sara Shepard.  The first lines: “Have you ever done something so shameful, so shocking, so unlike you that you wanted to disappear?  Maybe you hid in your room all summer, too mortified to show your face.  Maybe you begged your parents to let you switch schools.  Or maybe your parents didn’t even know about your secret – you his from them, too.  You were afraid they’d take one look at you and know that you’d done something horrible.”  Summary from Goodreads:  In the eleventh novel, A is still out there, lurking in the shadows and digging up the liars’ latest secrets… Emily’s reconnecting with an old flame, one baby step at a time. But is she headed toward true love or another bundle of heartache? Spencer’s learning about the highs and lows of campus life on a trip to Princeton. Aria’s seeing a whole new side to Noel’s dad—and it could drive a wedge between her and Noel. And, for better or worse, Hanna’s getting in touch with her inner A.  Secret by secret, lie by lie, the girls get tangled in A’s dangerous web. Soon A will have enough ammunition to pull the trigger and end the pretty little liars, once and for all… (4/5 Stars)
 
My third book of the month was another Amazon Kindle Free Read – #1 in the Addison Holmes mystery series – Whiskey Rebellion by Liliana Hart.  And to be honest, I really liked the book – an exceptional blend of mystery and humor!  I love it when you find a hidden gem in the free reads section!  The first lines: “My life was a disaster.  I sat in my car with a white-knuckled grip on the steering wheel and watched the rain pound against the windshield.  I was soaked to the skin, my skirt was ripped, and blood seeped from both knees.  There were scratches on my arms and neck, and my face was blotchy and red from crying.  Along with the external wounds, I’d lost a good deal of my sensibilities, most of my faith in mankind, and all of my underwear somewhere between a graveyard and a church parking lot.  I’ll explain later.  It’s been a hell of a day.”  Summary from Goodreads: My name is Addison Holmes, and I teach history at James Madison High School in Whiskey Bayou, Georgia. You might be under the assumption that my life went to the dogs when my fiancé left me at the altar for the home economics teacher, or when I got notice that my apartment building was going to be condemned, or even when I was desperate enough to strip to my unmentionables to earn some extra cash so I could buy a house. The truth is that I’m pretty much used to disasters following me around on a daily basis, but I could have gone without finding my principal dead in the parking lot of a seedy gentlemen’s club.  After the initial shock of finding my first dead body, which included throwing back shots of Jack Daniels like it was water, I decided to take stock of my life. I was in a desperate situation and if the school board ever found out I’d been a stripper, even a bad stripper, I’d be jobless as well as fiancé-less and homeless. Fortunately, I had a friend who felt sorry enough for me to give me a job doing some surveillance work at her detective agency. And it didn’t bother me one bit that it was the equivalent of a pity fuck. Money is money, and I was about to be homeless. Not to mention the fact that I was now able to stick my nose into other people’s business for a good cause, find a murderer and pick up helpful tips from an incredibly attractive detective.  (4/5 Stars)
 
BooksSept
 
What has been your favorite read of 2013 so far?  Any recommendations for me?
 
xoxoJen
Leave a Reply

