I’ve Committed. Calgary Half Marathon.

Hello friends!  As you know, I’m making an effort to get “back on the wagon” for running.  I really don’t know how I let it get this out of hand!  But the past is the past…and this is a new year.  As such….I just signed me (and the hubby!) up for the Centaur Subaru Half Marathon (aka – Calgary Half).  I loved it when I got the following text: “What is this confirmation email from “Scotiabank Calgary Race Weekend” about?  And….why did I get a second email about fundraising for “Autism Support Dogs”?  You’re welcome hubby – for looking out for your health!  And… just maybe….for “agreeing” to be my running partner in this sub-zero weather!!!

Not to mention, it’s the 50th Anniversary of this race!!!  So it should be a great race to get me motived again!

CalgaryHalf2

I decided to build out a 16 week schedule.  Even though four months seems far away, I felt I needed the time to rebuild my endurance and my confidence.  Contrary to popular belief, running isn’t just about getting ready physically – it’s also about mental preparation.  I’m really not talking straight-jackets here!!!

So what can you expect on this journey?

Along with me adding in some basic strength training Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Sundays, we have decided to not run on Fridays, and do our long runs on Saturdays.  Sundays are going to be our swing day – meaning, if we feel ok, we will do a light shake-out run…and if we feel like crap, we will cross-train, walk, or take the day off!  So after much tweaking, I sent the final version to the hubby for his opinion.  His response?  “Looks doable to me, I like.”  Woo-hoo – we have a plan!

This schedule is a bit different from anything we’ve tried before, so I am excited to see how this training will turn out.  And in case you are curious, below is the schedule:

CalgaryHalfSchedule

And for fun….a peek at a few new pieces in my winter gear closet:

Base Layer / Mid Layer Tops
1) Brooks Equilibrium Base LS –  Like a second, smarter skin, this amazing base layer helps maintain optimal conditions in both heat and cold. When teamed with a top layer, it works like insulation–blocking outside elements and improving your natural temperature regulation by keeping you incredibly dry and breaking up surface tension with air pockets.
2) MEC Wildfire Zip – This versatile layer is a good choice for three-season running, skiing, or snowshoeing. It’s intended for use on chilly spring mornings, but can also be adapted to days that are just plain cold.

clothes_base

clothes_mid

Tights
MEC Mercury Tights – Technical tights for running or other fast-paced winter activities. A soft microfleece interior keeps you warm, while strategically placed vents help maintain a comfortable body temperature.

clothes_tights

Accessories
Yaktrax – The Yaktrax Run is an ice traction device anatomically designed for use with running shoes. Run naturally on packed snow and ice with the Yaktrax Run’s combination of removable spikes and steel coils, providing 360° of unbeatable traction. Continue your training during the winter with the same stability you are accustomed to on dry surfaces. The Yaktrax Run can be worn in temperatures as low as -41° Fahrenheit.

Yaktrax

What other cold weather running gear do you suggest?

Jen

3 thoughts on “I’ve Committed. Calgary Half Marathon.

  1. Woo hoo for signing up! There are lots of people running this race, so it should be fun! The course is awesome and you get a great medal too. Looking forward to following along with your training 🙂

  2. Love the new gear! I haven’t found really warm tights yet so I’m excited to hear how you like those. The microfleece sounds awesome! I also love the half zip with thumb holes. The one I got is really warm – too warm so far for any of the runs I’ve done in NOLA. I definitely want to hear how you like the Yaktrax. I think they’re a great idea and I hope they work for you.

Leave a Reply

