Calgary Half Training: Week 5

Week 5 is in the books!  I felt pretty good overall – getting in three 3-mile runs throughout the week, and finishing strong with a 7 mile long run yesterday.

CalgaryHalf5

 

Wednesday’s Strength & Abs workout looked like this (you can substitute for the weight that fits you!):

Strength1

Abs_Starfish

Starfish

Abs_Bridge

Bridge

Abs_Side Bends

Side Toe Touch

 ***Please visit Amanda at Run to the Finish for EXCELLENT Ab tutorials!!!

Best part of my week – THIS happened!!!  8:38/mile training run!

03.11.14_Run

Second best part of my week – THIS happened!  Shorts during Sunday’s long run!

shorts

I completed a solo run outside on Tuesday because the hubby ended up working super late.  To be honest, I also didn’t get out to run…but forced myself to go ahead and change into my running clothes and at least go for a mile or two.  I chose an “out and back” along one side of the river.  I started off strong (probably because all the people who were out and about!<–HUGE motivators!) and decided to make it to 1.5 miles before turning around.  At the halfway point, I stopped to catch my breath, take a pic of the setting sun, pop in a cough drop (<– it’s really for when I start to get “over-heated”), and rock ‘n’ roll back to the finish.  I have my RunKeeper settings set to tell me distance and pace every 5 minutes (instead of every 1/2 mile), and was shocked to hear that my return pace was just as strong as my start!  So I kept it up and finished STRONG! 🙂

I wasn’t feeling that great Wednesday and Thursday (<– gotta love being a woman!), so I took it easy and backed out of the cardio workouts.  I ran inside on the dreadmill treadmill on Friday and Saturday to help accommodate the hubby’s erratic schedule this past week.  By the time his super-late work evenings come to an end, it’s cold and dark outside – and with me finally getting over this cough – I chose to run indoors.  Saturday’s run was NICE and EASY…a slow 10:00/mile pace…so that I would have “rested” legs for Sunday’s long run.  As of Saturday evening, we still weren’t sure if we would enter the St. Patrick’s Day 10K on Sunday…so I wanted some energy on reserve, just in case.  We ended up NOT running the race…but still had a GREAT long run together.  As seen above – I got to run in SHORTS!  The weather was perfect (~11*C or 52*F) and sunny.  We chose to run a 3.5 mile loop twice, and the toughest part of the run was when we had to BATTLE the 10 mph winds for the first 1.5 miles (each loop!)   There were times I seriously wanted to stop running just so that I could take a deep breath.  The wind was so fierce at times that I literally had to turn my head to the side just to attempt to breathe!!!  All in all…I felt that the tough part of the run made me stronger, as I pushed through it and didn’t give up, putting my BEST FOOT forward!

***I’m also linking up with AmandaKrysten and Ericka for #bestfoot Monday today 🙂

bestfoot-this-week-link-up

11 Weeks to Go!

I’ve Committed Post HERE
Week 1 Recap HERE
Week 2 Recap HERE
Week 3 Recap HERE
Week 4 Recap HERE

Jen

11 thoughts on “Calgary Half Training: Week 5

  1. Yay Jen, congratulations on that nice and speedy three miler last week! And shorts on Sunday’s run? That’s awesome. I realized at my race on Sunday that I could have definitely gotten away with wearing shorts. It is so nice to get that break in the weather around this time of year!

    Have a great week!

    • Hi Leana! Thanks for stopping by!! I love it when I can surprise myself 🙂 You had a pretty awesome race on Sunday – breaking the 60 min mark!!! I was *this close* to entering it myself…perhaps we will get a chance to meet up soon!

    • Hi Lindsay! Thanks for stopping by. I am LOVING the weather. Shorts and long-sleeve shirt is perfect for me 🙂 I honestly don’t know if I would EVER consider running longer than a half marathon…so I am happy to experience it through you 🙂

  2. I love that picture! Hope to see it on 365.

    I ran in shorts once outside this week and it was amazing. Somehow 40F is now perfect weather. Guess that’s what a winter of single and negative digits will do for you!

Leave a Reply

