Thinking Out Loud: March 27th

Hello friends!  I am joining Amanda at Running with Spoons for her “Thursdays are for…Thinking Out Loud” series.  What’s in it for me?  A brain dump.  What’s in it for you?  Total randomness!  Enjoy!

TOL

NEW ‘DO!  I mentioned LAST Thursday day that I was off to a hair appointment…and that I was itching for a change.  Well…it happened…and I LOVE it!  I found a local salon with lots of positive recommendations via Yelp…and decided to try it out!  I arrived about 10 minutes early for my appointment to chat with my new stylist (who I LOVED  by the way!) and we discussed 1) on a scale of 1-10, how much did I want a change? 2) what was the WORST hair experience I have ever had? and 3) What was the BEST hair experience I have ever had?  Then she walked me through her color recommendation (overall blonde highlights to look natural, not streaks), trim off a few inches with a blunt cut, and add a side-sweep bang!  I said…GO FOR IT!

Before...

Before…

...During...

…During…

...After!

…After!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Maybe I should move to AsiaWhy – you ask? Purely so I can run better/faster/longer/stronger!  See below…I’m not crazy!!!  My best runs lately seem to come after an awesome Japanese/Thai/Vietnamese lunch.

 AsianMeals

Good Reads. Hmmm….I’m not doing so hot in the reading department so far for 2014.  I have set a goal for the year to read 40 books….I’ve finished a whopping total of O-N-E.  On the plus side…that one book was stellar!

NightCircus

We’re TV Junkies.  There’s no way around it….we LOVE to watch TV series (and movies!)  In the first three months of 2014 we’ve watched T-E-N series.  Now…to be fair…it’s been really, really cold some nights and weekends!!!  Those are the days that we wrap ourselves in blankets and never emerge from the depths of the comfy couch!

TVseries

I traveled a lot last year.  A LOT.  I can’t remember why now…but I was participating in a travel survey that was focused on total travel in one year.  The first part of the survey broke down Business Trips versus Personal Trips – I completed 19 Business vs. 3 Personal.  The second part broke down those trips into Weekdays and Weekends.  My 19 Business Trips spanned a total of 47 weekdays and  13 weekends.  My 3 Personal Trips spanned a total of 9 weekdays and 15 weekends.  That is a GRAND TOTAL of 84 days away from home.  The third part broke down locations (3 countries and 6 cities) and hotel preferences (Hyatt and Marriott brands).

travel

New winter activities!  I’m SO excited to try cross-country skiing and snowshoeing this weekend!!!!  I hope we look as graceful as the couple in the pic below….

nordic-centre1

Does anyone else have these problems???   The first step is admitting I have a problem…

mornings sorryhungry

 What’s on your mind?

Jen

11 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud: March 27th

  1. 1. I love the haircut!
    2. I’m slacking on the reading department this year too, I blame Netflix!
    3. I can’t imagine traveling 84 days, I struggled through 5 straight weeks!
    4. I love cross country skiing, it’s so fun, but such a great workout!

    • 1) Thanks!
      2) Agreed…movies and tv shows are just so wonderful when it’s cold out!
      3) I’m not sure which is worse…84 days over multiple week…or 5 weeks straight. I think we both traveled too much 🙂
      4) Double agree…SUCH a workout. But we really had a BLAST!!!
      PS – thanks for always taking the time to comment…it always brings a smile to my face 🙂

  2. Your hair looks absolutely stunning. So beautiful!! 🙂

    I definitely have to apologize for what I say or do when I am hungry. It’s like, you don’t want to be anywhere near me when my tummy is a grumbling. The claws WILL come out.

    I have read 14 books this year, and may have over done it because I’m in a bit of a slump. But, like you said about the cold nights, it’s been a bad winter in Ohio and reading just sounded perfect on those dark nights. 🙂

    I would love to work in a Marketing/Advertising company where they have exercise balls as chairs, the office is painted in really bright, fun colors, and the atmosphere is creative and colorful. I’m actually thinking about making that career change!

  3. I remember you mentioning that you were going to get your hair done, and it looks GORGEOUS. So pretty and fresh for spring, and I’m loving the side bangs 🙂 And while I haven’t done either in years and years, I remember both snowshoeing and cross country skiing were extremely tiring. Definitely a good workout!

    • Thank you, thank you, thank you! 🙂 I had an absolute BLAST this past weekend x-country skiing and snowshoeing…and honestly could not imagine the level of “workout” they both entailed until I actually did it.

Leave a Reply

